caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

flu

It's been a quiet day. I did make it to work, although not until 9:30ish. Fortunately no one seemed to mind as they really weren't even expecting me today. The database is still down so I could only do paperwork anyway, and it was fairly low stress. I feel better, just really really tired. Not I-need-a-nap tired, or I-didn't-get-enough-sleep-last-night tired, but I've-had-my-eyelids-forced-open-by-toothpicks-for-72-hours-straight-while-being-poked-by-sticks tired. BB and I were intending to go to dinner tonight, but after a few minutes of trying to figure out someplace to go and walking Sophie, I was too tired to even think about it and BB wanted pizza anyway, so we just ordered in. I wish we lived in a real town so we could get something delivered besides pizza.

I finished reading Sir Apropos of Nothing by Peter David this morning, which was fairly entertaining for the way it dealt with fantasy conventions like heroic quests and destiny, but was a bit too long. I've started 5 or 6 other books while reading that one, and haven't gotten into any of them. I have had no level of concentration lately. I can't focus at all. I have a pile of library books and a pile of TBR paperbacks, but just can't get into anything. It's a very frustrating feeling.

Oh, by the way, thank you, Genibee, for kindly pointing out to me in my guestbook that influenza has done quite a bit of damage over the centuries and I shouldn't feel wimpy about being laid low by it. We forget that, now, but people still do die of the flu. I certainly felt like death the last couple of days. I keep meaning to read that book on the Influenza Epidemic of 1919, and haven't gotten around to it yet. As often as I get sick, I probably shouldn't read it, actually. I don't want to get any more paranoid than I already am.

It's only 9 pm, but I'm feeling the need to wrap this up and head to bed. Even typing is making me tired. Aaargh.

8:40 p.m. - 2001-07-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: