caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

storm

Why? Why why why do some people thrive on causing dissension and unrest? And why do these people unfailing become part of otherwise fairly civil discussion lists?

I opened my inbox this morning to find 60+ message, some 40 of which either originated with this troll, or were in response to. It frustrates me to no end, for while I find his opinions and his manner of expressing them ignorant and repulsive, I suspect that it is at least in part a facade, a cheap attempt to cause trouble. Which is working, of course, because it's really difficult not to argue and call him an idiot when he so clearly is. But that's just what he wants, and it just makes him worse and adds more fuel to the fire. If everyone would ignore him he would go away; he's been quiet for months now, but what with the recent dissension on list anyway, the time was ripe for a resurfacing. Just this weekend he's managed to insult: fat people and skinny people, the disabled, women in general, and specific list members. But come one. Could any one really believe, forexample, that men have "always" been the ones responsible for preventing unwanted pregnancies, when most of recorded history proves otherwise? And that point hasn't even been the most inflammatory, it was a comment that society is not responsible for accomadating people with physical difference, whether it's a weight issue or a access for the disabled. He may truly believe that, in a skewed Darwinian survival-of-the-fittest sort of way; and that's within his rights to believe. Idiotic, but within his rights. No one on the list is going to change his mind, not with well-reasoned and supported arguments, and not with insults. I'm not willing to waste my energy trying to insult someone who will not be insulted, or change a mind that is permanantly closed. Particularly when I suspect that by responding I'll just be giving him what he wants. But I understand the people who have responded, just the same; I composed and deleted several posts over the weekend, and was in the middle of composing one I might actually have sent when the power went out last night.

What I am ready to do is just unsub from the companion list altogether. While it has provided me with many hours of amusement and thought in the past, lately it's just angered and annoyed me, and I have better things to do with my time. I have to think about this, and see if things calm down this week at all.


So, on an unrelated note, we did have a huge scary thunderstorm last night. The power was knocked out for several hours, the animals were freaked (except for Daisy, who is unflappable), and I was a little unnerved myself. The sky turned a funky greeny-yellow color, the rain came down in sheets, and the wind picked up. Being on the third floor is not reassuring in these instances. And of course I had no battery-powered radio in the house, the phone went out as well, and I had one flashlight and some candles. That was all. Plus I worried about BB, working outside in that mess. He didn't get home until very late, after I was asleep, and came to bed about 4 am, whereupon I woke up, mumbled at him, and went back to sleep. The power was back on, though, so I did manage to set the alarm at some point when I woke up.

I'm really tired and woozy-feeling this morning. I don't know if it's still the aftereffects of that nasty flu, of not getting enough sleep, or come combination of that and stress from yesterday and last night.

I'm thinking of changing this page around. I'm not satisfied with the layout; I want something a bit snazzier (suddenly I'm channeling my grandma. What kind of word is snazzy anyway?), something more representative of me and what this journal is for me. I'll have to think on it.

8:43 a.m. - 2001-07-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: