caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

piecework

Hey, I got my new template done! (I've been a busy girl at work today, don't you know.) What do you think? It's been brewing since the entry I wrote a few days ago about quilting and why it appeals to me. It occured to me afterwards that it's not the actual act of quilting, which technically is sewing the stitches that hold the layers together, that appeals to me. It's the piecing that comes first -- figuring out the design, picking out the fabrics, and the cutting and sewing into a recognizable pattern. That's piecing a quilt top; it's not a quilt until you add the batting and backing and quilt through all the layers to hold them together. When people say "quilting" they often mean the whole process of creating a quilt, from design to binding, but I like to be specific in my terms (it's the librarian in me, I can't help it).

So it's piecing that I get the most pleasure from, for some reason. And I think that in a way that's also what I'm doing here -- laying out all my different colors and patterns, trying to find the symmetry and beauty I know must be there. My quilt is unfinished, and will be for some time, I think. The edges are raveling, the points don't quite match up yet. I can't do any of those things until I figure out the pattern, and I'm not sure that task will ever be done.

3:15 p.m. - 2001-07-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: