caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no longer secret

Well, MIL came to help me pack today. BB got out of it, because he had a doctor's appointment, and then had to go to work. In between, he took MIL to go see the house and to pick up some more boxes.

She did help some, especially with YB's stuff. But she also was opening drawers and cupboards and stuff, and managed, in the process of filling the one box of books she packed, to pick up the one stack of books that had, among other things, the Nancy Friday and Lonnie Barbach books. That's what I need, a mother-in-law who knows I own copies of For Yourself and My Secret Garden. Never mind Anne Rice's Sleeping Beauty trilogy, although she might not have known what that was. Aarghhood.

She also managed to insult our choice of house, again, and tell BB that she didn't like my hair since I colored it. She said nothing to me at all about it, but when BB got home he asked her how she liked my hair and she just looked at me and shook her head like I'd lost my mind. It's not like I made it green or something, it's just a little red, for crissake. She's really good at making me feel like a clod because she's so put together all the time -- perfect hair, perfect make-up, jewelry-laden, little matchy-poo-poo outfits. Even today, coming to help me pack. I hadn't showered and was wearing a 10-year-old tshirt and a pair of BB's shorts. Needless to say, I was not at my most gracious. I don't think she means to make me feel like that, but she does. She's coming back tomorrow with FIL in tow. Yippee.

After she left I did have a nice refreshing nap and then did a Target run. I spent way too much money at Target, as usual; I think there's some kind of law that you can't get out of there without handing over at least 50 bucks for stuff you didn't know you had to have until you got there. But there were a buncj of summer clothes on clearance, and we needed plastic organizer thingies, and kitty litter, and I needed life savers and Doritos. Some things you just have to have.

The apartment is starting to look somewhat bare. Most of my books are packed, which always leaves me feeling a little lost. A good chunk of YB's stuff is packed up, and some of the knick-knacky things. We still have so much crap to pack or toss, though. We have way way too much stuff. A good portion of it is mine, due to my pack-rat tendencies, but I'm pretty sure that BB has at least as much if not more than me in the way of clothes and saved-up old mewspapers and junk like that. He's even worse about saving cards and magazine articles and sentimental scraps of things than I am, which is very frustrating when you have no storage space. I'm hoping I can get that junk somewhat organized during the move (thus the plastic Target boxes).

God, I'm tired.

9:34 p.m. - 2001-08-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: