caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

peachy keen like a jellybean

Gack. Yes, it's 6 am. On a Saturday. I have not been sleeping well, and I'm awake now despite having taken 2 Tylenol#3 after midnight due to a raging headache that nothing else had been able to kill. The head's somewhat better, but I'm so wide awake I want to smack someone -- preferably Blue, since he is in there sleeping like a baby and insensible to my state of non-sleep. Why is it that when you can't sleep, you want everyone else to be awake to commiserate with you? Even Sophie, who followed me into the living room when I got up, promptly went back to sleep at my feet. And the feline royalty are of course in kitty dreamland; that's what they do best, and one awake human is certainly not sufficient to rouse them unless she starts making noise in the kitchen.

I dreamed last night that I was pregnant. We were in the new house and having a party, and I was taking people around and showing them the baby's room. It was all perfectly normal; none of the surrealism or jumping around that typifies my usual dreams. I'm sure it was because we discussed the possibilities of pregnancy at my doctor's appointment yesterday, when we were taking about what can be done for fibromyalgia (not much, frankly) and she mentioned there were muscle relaxers and things I could take, but not if I'm trying to get pregnant. So it was on my mind a bit more than usual yesterday. When I woke up, though, it took me a bit to get away from the dream and stop feeling like I am actually pregnant. Sigh. But, I am not going to make this Caerula's infertility journal. Yuck.

We are supposed to be able to start moving things in today. I went by the house yesterday and all is peachy-keen except that there are no stairs. Those were included with the house, so we expected them to sort of be there when the house was done. And since the house is slightly elevated due to the footers and all, the front door is about 4 and half feet off the ground. As I am only two inches over 5 feet tall, it's a little difficult for me to get in at all, never mind carrying anything. We had to take our stepladder to get in the other day. We're going out there this morning to demand steps. I really don't think it's so much to ask.

A kid I used to work with at a public library -- he was a page, and 15 or 16 years old -- used to say "peachy keen like a jellybean" whenever anyone asked how he was. I thought that was so cute. Especially for a teenage boy. He was one of those types who bucked the system and clearly couldn't care less what his peers thought of him.

Don't you hate it when people mean "couldn't care less" but say "could care less?" That is so annoying.

And speaking of annoying, there's another troll onlist. I guess technically he's not really a Troll, since he's been onlist for two years, but he surfaces occasionally to say incredibly obnoxious things about his current pet prejudice, be it organized religion, improper word use, intelligent women (he once told me not to get my "stocking -- probably blue -- in a twist") or whatever. He's been warned, over and over. Now we've set him to moderated status on the main List, so none of his posts have gone through since a couple days ago, but he's still posting away, spewing his vitriol, on the Sublist. I don't know why we haven't kicked him off. I really don't. Probably because on some level I worry that by banning him I'm really carrying out my own personal prejudice, and stifling discussion. He sent me a response this morning, finally after three warnings, and I've forwarded on to the other moderators to get a consensus before I answer him. I don't understand why some people need to get their jollies by disrupting a generally polite, well-spoken, reasonable group of people. And he excuses is by saying "discussion without disagreement is not discussion" and says that I don't know what discussion is. And goes on to say that in a discussion group no topic should be off limits as long as it doesn't degenerate to personal attacks. Well, call me crazy, but I think telling someone they obviously only read "approved" history books verges on the personal, as do comments about people getting their stockings in a twist. And in any case, there ARE topics that are off limits on internet discussion lists. Every list has their done-to-death topics that out of courtesy and common sense just aren't brought up, and on the Sublist politics and religion have generally been among the things we just don't bring up. It's an off-topic list, sure, but that doesn't necessarily mean everything is fair game. Or should it? I don't know. I do know that I dislike this person intensely and want him to go away. Is that wrong? I don't know. But at this point I really don't care if my motives are personal or not. It's at least half my list, and my co-moderators so far agree with me, and we get to decide. So there, Troll.

6:08 a.m. - 2001-08-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: