caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

steps

I've gotten four emails in the last hour or so, I am only assuming in response to my earlier, pathetic, feeling-sorry-for-myself entry, all from friends I've made through the List. Much as I bitch about List issues, I've made such wonderful friends there. Most of the people are absolutely wonderful, and, amazingly, they really care about me. As do my family and friends here, locally. It makes me feel like a selfish bitch for being so self-absorbed. I know the universe isn't actually out to get us, much as it feels like it sometimes. I know there are lots of people much worse off than us. I still have a job, a good one, which provides us with health care and dental coverage and a 401k, even though it would be nice if it paid a bit more. If we scrimp and scrap and let the late fees pile up on the credit cards I make enough to get us through, at least for a couple of months. And knock on wood, Blue won't be out of work that long. Anything's possible, I suppose, but fortunately he's willing to do just about anything to get us back on our feet, even if it means working two crappy $7-an-hour fast food jobs, or whatever. And I'm checking on evening and weekend librarian positions, though I haven't found any yet (when I wasn't looking, of course, there were a zillion). Selling craft/needlework/quilt projects has also occured to me. I know there's a market, though I really have no idea how to get into that. I'll have to investigate that a little more, since it's something I could do to bring in more money while staying home with YMB in the evenings.

There's a lot we can do, when I can stop freaking out long enough to think reasonably about it. Things will be shitty for a while, no doubt, but we'll get through it. We've gotten through so much already, we're experts at it. We're not going to starve. We're NOT going to lose the house.

Maybe someday we'll even have steps, so we can get into the house.

Thanks, guys.

2:42 p.m. - 2001-08-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: