caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

all wet

You know what's funny? I have to read everyone else's entries before I can write my own, even if I know what I want to write about and am anxious to get to it, and even if it takes me until noon because I'm actually getting some work done too.

Last Thursday night I went to the grocery store while Blue and YMB went to the laundromat (our hand-me-down washer and dryer, thanks to in-laws finally arrived yesterday. Yay!). I was so proud of myself because I mangaged to pick out and purchase lunch meat, hot dogs, and other non-vegetarian products for the boys without getting too grossed out. They decided they would have said hot dogs for dinner, and then dissolved into hyterical laughter when we realized that I had neglected to purchase actual hot dog buns. My only defense is that I don't eat the durned things. They are still razzing me about it.

Sherman, beloved co-worker, has restocked his M&M dispenser. Damn him. I'm trying to cut back on extraneous junk food. I really am.

I really overdid it this weekend. I have to remember that I just can't do as much active work as I used to be able to. I unpacked books, set up the computer desk (although Internet service is questionable at the moment, grr), painted bookshelves, rearranged the kitchen, and did various other little things. The house is starting to look like home, although there are still a fair number of boxes sitting around. But when I got up this morning I was so stiff I could hardly move, and I hobbled to the chair in the den and put heat on my knees and back for half-an-hour before I could convince myself to go get in the shower. Blue and I need to sit down and rethink our daily schedule now that he and YMB both are on strict schedules, and I'm more flexible. Schedule-wise, not physically.

In our bathroom in the new house (what a beautiful thing, to have a master bath!) we have a big corner soaking tub. This was one of the selling points for me; I love hot baths, and they're very soothing on my sore joints and muscles. But the typical apartment bathtub is not terribly conducive to long hot baths; this one is. It's huge -- I can lay back and stretch out my legs. It has sloping ledges on either side to rest your arms. It has a curved back that is fairly comfortable and allows one to lean back. One of the first things I did after we moved in was take a long, long bath.

Well, obviously, a bathtub this size could lend itself to other activities, and I'm sure we weren't the only ones whose minds went there when presented with this vision. It's quite obviously big enough for two people. So this weekend, with YMB gone to the Dementors, we decided to, um, "christen" the tub. What a disaster! We were both in hysterics by the end. Soaking in the tub together was quite pleasant, at least for me as I had a warm body to lay back against instead of tile. But the gymnastics involved in trying to position oneself correctly, combined with my lack of flexibility and the fact that my hip pops out of joint quite easily anyway, made this an exercise in creativity. I was all for throwing in the towel (so to speak) and heading into the bedroom, but Blue was determined to, well, see it through. We did, among much giggling, bumping, "oww"ing, inadvertant mirrored glimpses of selves which resulted in more hysterics, some water inhalation (but no drowning, fortunately), and much sloshing of water onto the floor. Add in one bemused kitty cat who had snuck in unnoticed and tried to balance along the rim of the tub. Luckily she decided this really wasn't the place for her and fled before she fell in, or we would have had to add bleeding from multiple cat scratches into the mix.

It wasn't terribly romantic, but it was fun. I have a feeling that years from now we'll be saying to each other "Remember that time we tried to [ahem] in the tub?"

12:04 p.m. - 2001-09-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: