caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lima beans, collard greens, peachy keen...

We went to Best Buy last night and dropped a chunk of change on stuff we didn't even go there for.

Actually, I should start at the beginning. Blue drove to Toledo to look at a car we might buy (his dad wants the Grand Am back and so we're looking for a cheap-o car to replace it). He's looking at Saturns as that's the one kind of vehicle we've always had good luck and no major problems with. I'm currently driving a 2000 Saturn LS1 and I love it. It was my first grown-up car. And I'm so excited about the SUV, which is taller than a car but still has its bumpers low, which is what I didn't like about the Blazer. I felt like I was driving all over the road with it. So anyway, Blue wants an early-90s SC, the sporty two-door one. The problem is he really wants to get a manual and I have never been able to learn to drive a stick, and it makes me nervous that we might have a car I won't be able to drive.

So anyway, he went and looked at the car, liked it better than anything else he's seen, and put down a small deposit contingent on my approval. We'll probably go back on Saturday. Then Blue picked up YMB from school, apparently dealt with an invasion of girls as soon as they got home (they were WAITING for the boy), and then left to meet me at Circuit City after work. We were actually supposed to be looking at cell phones, as we've decided Blue really needs one. I never know where he is and he's constantly running late. They had very few options at Circuit City. We were also going to look at satellite systems since we've given up on ever getting cable out in BFE. They only had DirectTV, and I know people who've had bad, bad experiences with DTV. The we had dinner at Big Boy's where I very irresponsibly had fried clams. But I love clams, and they hardly ever have them, so I was happy, albeit a little sick-feeling afterward. We went to visist FIL in the hospital. We were a bit alarmed that seemed a little worse, but part of that was because he was really groggy, which we hope was due to the medicine. We only stayed a few minutes as he kept dozing off in the middle of talking to us. YMB did very well in the hospital; behaved nicely, kept his voice down. He was visibly upset at the sight of Papa in a hospital bed, but he handled himself very well. He also got to see the medcopter taking off, which pretty much made his day.

Then, we went to Best Buy. They also, oddly, only had DirectTV. They had a few more cell phone options, and we picked up all the flyers and played with the cute little phones, and then wandered around for a bit. I picked up some photo-editing software I've been coveting, normally 50 bucks but with a rebate which brought the price down, and a DVD of The Black Stallion for only 9 bucks.

YMB purchased the DVD of the Veggie Tales Ultimate Silly Song Countdown, which I'm rather looking forward too as well. Veggie Tales can be a bit preachy -- they don't pretend to be anything but religious, and they were introduced to me by an ultra-religious friend -- but they are also vastly entertaining. And they retell Bible stories with vegetables. How great it that? Little French Peas atop the walls of Jericho, taunting the other vegetables down below. I love the little French pea guys, with Parisian accents and names like Jean-Claude and Pierre. I also like Junior Asparagus. And Larry Boy, the "super hero with super suction ears." It's way better than letting YMB watch tv indiscriminately, since there are actual non-annoying morals involved and no violence. There are only so many episode of "Boy Meets World" you can sit through. Yuck.

Blue got a playable game sampler for PS2, which was like $7, and we also found a DVD repair thingy. Yay, SSX works again! I was going through withdrawal. And he bought some adapter cord which is supposed to make our picture better. I couldn't really tell a difference, but whatever.

All stuff we really didn't need, but which makes us happy. It's so nice to be able to afford to do that once in a while. Although I'm really kind of pissed that our tax refund check hasn't come yet; we're supposed to get it this week, which is the last week of the whole deal. I hope it's not delayed by all of Dubya's important meetings and airport security plans.

I know, that's a terrible thing to say. The terrible things going on in the country are far worse than my missing $600. But we really could use that right now. I was glad to hear that Guiliani has banned any more photos of the clean-up at the WTC. I was getting really tired of seeing those poor fireman and EMT workers accosted by reporters every time they move.

Li'l Pea

Umm....what was I talking about? I succumbed to work for a little while, then got drawn into a discussion with Sherman and the Lady Pirate about whether or not Paul Anka is Canadian. Which somehow and segued from talking about our weekends, to trying to remember the words to the Gettysburg Address.

I had a honey-wheat bagel for breakfast. Delish, and more responsible then the orange muffin I usually get when I go to Tim Horton's. Trying to make up for dinner last night. N is inspiring me with her willpower.

I've lost the thread of this, so I guess it's back to work for me. After I finish playing around on the Veggie Tales website some more. I'm entertaining myself with the Pea Paint.

9:29 a.m. - 2001-09-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: