caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

grammar, soccer, used cars, and fertilty. my life is so enthralling.

Dear Phelps: I know it was passive voice. I believed you from the beginning, oh grammar goddess. The others are misguided souls wandering lost.

Both the List and Sublist have been sooo pedantic lately. I'm skipping much of the postings (except for Phelps's golden prose, of course), because I certainly don't want to get involved in another "grammar circle-jerk" (N has quite a way with words!), and then the List stuff about inheritance law makes my eyes glaze over. Oh, for a nice thread about bad 70s pop songs!

FIL is home from the hospital, although he has to go back today for yet another test. We saw him yesterday and he's looking pretty good. He was even able to go for a walk outside with MIL. On a related note, MIL and FIL came in to watch YMB and take him to soccer practice while Blue and I were driving all over creation last night (more on that in a moment). YMB managed to convince them that he couldn't go to soccer practice because he couldn't find his shin guards, which were in the back of my car still. He later admitted to Blue (the kid can't help telling on himself) that he knew very well Coach would have let him practice without them, or dug up some for him to borrow. We just don't know what to do. Blue is dead-set on making him see the season through, and while I agree on some level -- we have a lot invested in this, and YMB kept telling us he wanted to do it, so it's not like we forced him -- I also have memories of things like swimming lessons that my parents made me go through, and I hated them so much and was miserable the entire time. I don't know what YMB's problem is -- if it's a combination of not liking the coach, and missing so many games because the Dementors won't bring him back on their weekends, and not getting to play as much because of all the games and practices he's missed, or what. I'm still trying to call and find him a counselor, but because we have an HMO we have to call their Behavioral Health line first and get approval and recommendations, and I haven't been able to get through to them all morning. Guess lots of people need mental health help today.

So yesterday Blue went to the credit union to fill out the paperwork for the loan for the car we're buying for him, which I haven't mentioned much in here because there are so damn many other things going on right now. He's been driving his dad's old Grand Am, which was a great help to us last year since we didn't have to make car payments on it. But FIL for some reason has never actually signed it over to Blue, and now he's decided he wants to sell it. Which is fine with Blue, actually, as it needs a lot of work and we don't have the time or money for that now. So Blue finally found a nice used Saturn SC, which is the sporty one with two doors, in black, with a manual transmission, which is what he really wanted. We got approval for the loan (whew!) with a bit extra to pay off our high-rate credit card we've been paying on forever, but I had to go back out with him after work to sign the papers too. We're using the credit union where Blue's parents live, as they gave us the best rate, but it's a 45-minute drive from where we live now, so the ILs came to town to pick up YMB and watch him and we went up there. We hoped to come back and meet the guy with the car in town to pick it up, but then he lives in Northville and couldn't come in last night. So then we were going to go out there and pick it up, but then I pointed out to Blue that the check the credit union cut us was in my name, his name, and the Saturn owner's name, and the only way we were going to get the car last night was if we let them write us a check for the balance. Suspicious me didn't think that was the best of ideas. So anyway he's going to meet the guy and lunchtime and go to the back with him, so we can get a cashier's check for the difference, and pick up the car. Whew.

Gee, wasn't that an enthralling story?

What with one think and another, we didn't get home until 9ish last night. I played a couple of rounds of SSX (pulling off a 9000+ point move at least once, thank you very much) and went to bed.

Oh, and according to the little stick thing I peed on this morning, I'm ovulating. I'm sure you needed to know that.

Actually, it is good news, since the doctor wasn't sure if I actually was ovulating or not. Tests I've had before indicate the due to the irregularity of my cycle, some months I don't. But I took the fertility drugs this month and this morning apparently I had that hormone spike that indicates I will be fertile in the next 48 to 72 hours. Watch out, Blue -- YMB's going to bed early tonight!

10:17 a.m. - 2001-10-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: