caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a God complex

Good Lord, I don't even know where to start.

Not sure how I feel about the bombing. I haven't heard too much news about it. I didn't turn the tv on yesterday until we were getting ready to leave to pick YMB up from the Dementors, so I just caught a few minutes of Peter Jennings. I listened to the radio in the car, and then we met up with MIL and FIL (who is out of the hospital and seem to be doing quite well) and I listened to Blue and FIL argue back and forth about it while I pretended to be asleep. Then we had YMB with us, and didn't want to discuss it. And this morning in the car I listened to my Recorded Books version of The Doomsday Book by Connie Willis, instead. I guess I'm kind of avoiding gathering detail on this. I just don't want to know right now. Maybe that's sticking my head in the sand, or whatever, but whatever's going to happen will happen anyway, and soon enough I WON'T be able to avoid it. So I'm going to while I can.

I do think that since it has started, now it's time to put aside arguments on whether or not we should have, and do what we can to give support to the people putting their lives at risk. There's no point in debating shoulda, coulda, woulda. It's done, we can't go back, and a lot more people are going to die.


In reference to the flack we have on List right now, I refer you to N's recent diary entries. (By the way, N, it was 9:30. I let you sleep an extra half an hour!) Today I find myself in the unenviable position of trying to compose a polite yet chastising letter to Author telling her to shut the fuck up and stop posting unrelated and rude notes to the list just because she doesn't like what we've decided to do about it, which is basically nothing. It's all an idiotic misunderstanding, and Author, who turns out to be an evil bitch, is reading way too much into things, being extremely thin-skinned, and undermining our authority at every opportunity. It's extremely annoying, and as Phelps noted, Very Bad Timing.

So other than countries and authors with God complexes, it wasn't a bad weekend. We went scouting out our future furniture purchases, and have decided to buy, yes, more bookshelves! Yay! I have a large library style bookshelf right now that houses most of my non-fiction, but it's at least ten years old and isn't really wood, but just that veneer stuff. The shelves are starting to droop quite a bit and it just isn't big enough anymore. So we're getting a nice wide one, with lots more room, and actually made of wood. What a concept. Haven't found living room furniture we like yet, but we didn't put a lot of effort into looking as I was very tired by the end of the day Saturday, and had aching knees and ankles from walking around all day. I managed to take a nice long nap yesterday, for a change. Went to dinner with the in-laws after picking up YMB last night and had a nice time, although it took FOREVER to get our food and we got stuck in traffic, inexplicably, coming back, so we got home rather late and I'm a bit tired this morning, as I didn't sleep well (probably because of aforesaid nap) and had very weird dreams.


Fun Google hit of the day: "How+Prozac+saved+my+marriage." I hope the person was actually looking for Happy Woman Magazine, 'cause that's what they got. I shudder to think they might have been serious.

9:56 a.m. - 2001-10-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: