caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i will not feel guilty about buying lambskin, i will not feel guilty...

I spent lots of money on just myself last night, and I feel way guilty about it. I don't know why; we can afford it right now, we have money in savings, our bills for the month are paid up, and I know I'll be getting a nice bonus at the end of the month. But it's been ages since I've spent more than 7 bucks for a paperback or maybe $12 on a CD for myself, so I'm out of practice splurging. Last night I went looking for a fall jacket, and ended up buying a leather coat and a lovely new watch. I did desperately need the watch, as I've been without one (except for my pink plastic Powerpuff girls digital) for 6 months now. And the coat ended up being half-off, which is how I justified it. I've wanted a leather jacket for ages, but felt vaguely that it was just far too decadant a thing for me to buy myself. So I bit the bullet last night. Blue convinced me. And it WAS fun. And we also bought winter clothes for YMB, so it wasn't all about me. He's the pickiest 8 year old I know. Buying clothes with him is a nightmare. Last night, it was the ribbing on the sweater I picked out. He didn't like how it looked.

I've been reading Dave Barry's Book of Bad Songs to Blue, and now I have this one line stuck in my head: "I want a BRAVE man, I want a CAVE man." I was reading the book out loud in the car on the way back from the Dementors on Sunday, and Blue was laughing so hard I thought he was going to drive into the median.

YMB got in trouble at school yesterday for trying to JUMP OVER a bookshelf in his classroom. Blue asked him why he thought this would be a good idea, and, predictably, his answer was "I don't know." Aaargh.

I feel like I'm stagnating. I have to finish getting the house in order so I can get back to my quilt and sewing projects, and do something creative. It's driving me insane. Every time I feel like we've created some semblance of order, something happens that sets us back. We find more boxes, or we can't find the hammer, or Sophie gets into the kitchen trash and strews it all over the house. It's always something. Yesterday the flannel sheet that I had tacked up in the sewing room with my unfinished projects stuck on it fell down. So now I have things strewn about THAT room, too.

Note to Phelps: I hope you have better luck unpacking than I have.

Note to Natalie: Have fun tonight! I'm so jealous!

Note to Author, who hasn't responded to my stern letter of yesterday: Bite Me.

9:41 a.m. - 2001-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: