caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

an apple a day...

I fell asleep on the couch last night after Blue left for work, and woke up around 1:30 to "classic" This Old House on HGTV. I was awake after that until somewhere around 5. I watched a Buffy special on E!, sucked in by the promise of an interview with my role model Giles (Anthony Stewart Head, actually, of course) flipped randomly through channels (everyone apparently switches to infomercials after 3 am), ate Cheez-Its, checked email, started reorganizing the List database, and did everything but sleep. I just couldn't fall asleep. So frustrating.

I'm not surprised, though. It has been a long weekend, and I overdid it as usual. Got to that point where I couldn't arrange my body in any way that was comfortable for more than a few minutes, which makes sleep basically hopeless. Even though I stayed home Thursday and Friday, I did not get as much rest as I was supposed to. I finished setting up my sewing room, started on my fall wallhanging that I was supposed to start a month ago, started YMB's Halloween costume, unpacked some more picture albums and books, hung pictures on the walls, moved a big heavy bookcase (stupid, stupid!), stood out in the pouring rain at YMB's soccer game, and did a bit of shopping because I had to have some new pants. It doesn't look like all that much for four days, but it was too much for me.

So this morning I ended up going back to the doctor, as my knees and ankles are still giving me so much pain. I ended up seeing the nurse practioner, who was actually less than helpful as he didn't have any new suggestions for pain management until I see the rheumatologist. He did recommend that I cut back on my hours in the office and work more from home, at least through November, since sitting here at the computer 9+ hours a day is certainly not helping me. GrandmaBoss has been very sympathetic and helpful so far, but for this she has to go up one level and sort it out with her boss and HR, so I'm waiting to hear the verdict on that.

He also ordered bloodwork, to check my SED rate again, and so the nurse came in to draw blood. I have really deep veins, and have had problems have blood drawn before, so it always makes me a little nervous. She pokes me efficiently, so I hardly feel it, but no blood comes out. She pokes around a bit more. Wiggles the needle around in my vein. Nothing. So she decides to try the other arm. Misses the vein completely. Tries again. Punctures the vein, but can't get any blood. By this time, I can feel bruises rising on both my arms. She finally gets flustered and gives up, and fetches a different nurse. This one seems disgusted, but gets the job done, and helpfully tells me that I'm going to have a bruise there. No kidding. My arms still hurt.

I hate hate hate this doctor stuff. And tomorrow, I'm seeing the OB/GYN. Oh, joy.

12:03 p.m. - 2001-10-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: