caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ack ack ack

Well, I was good this weekend and didn't spend too much time at the computer, which is why I haven't updated since Thursday. As a result, my hands and wrists aren't quite as sore and swollen as they usually are on a Monday morning. So I guess that's something.

Of course, since I didn't log on to check email or read journals until last night, I missed Phelps's resignation from List Goddesshood. I was still reading my email when Natalie IM'd me to tell me how sad she was. My response was "WHAT????" I then saw the rather terse, to-the-point email Phelps had sent out to the moderators.

While I'm really sad to lose her as a co-moderator, I do understand. This whole thing with the Author has been so stupid, and people haven't seemed to give Phelps the benefit of the doubt. You would think that someone who has been around for several years, helping them with their petty List-related problems, writing thoughtful posts on a multitude of subjects, would garner more respect than a quasi-famous Author who only lurks on our List to pick our brains, and gives nothing in return. Like Phelps, I don't believe someone earns our respect just by virtue of having been published. Phelps has done more for the list than Author has ever thought about, and here people are complaining to Phelps about how she handled the situation, and starting up a rival list. Give me a break.

So, really, although I would have liked a little more warning, I totally understand. Part of me wants to dump the whole thing, too, and see what they do, but that's childish, I know. Part of me wants to write a searing post to the list to make everyone feel guilty about either judging Phelps without knowing the whole story, or not standing up for her even if they agree with our side of things. We get so much flack, but we hardly ever hear from the 600 or so people who apparently are happy with the way we have been running things. An occasional Good Job, or Thanks, would be nice. It's not like we're getting paid for this. It's supposed to be fun, damnit.

And most of the time it is, honestly. I enjoy it, even though I'm not actually able to participate in the discussion as much as I would like since I'm cutting back on my computer time. And one thing I've learned from doing this is not to let this sort of crap get under my skin. There was a time when it really would have bothered me to know that there are people who wish Phelps was still running the list by herself, and that I shouldn't have come back from my sick leave. It used to really bother me that most people took their problems to Phelps and left me out of the loop. But I've really got to the point where I just don't care. I don't let it bother me in the least. It saddens me that a bunch of adults can act so childish, and get upset over things like people using the word "whore" completely in context, or who still think someone must be Right because she is an Author. I thought we were more mature than that. But I don't care.

Except I do care, for Phelps's sake, because I know it hurt her that people didn't stand up for her, and I care because those same stupid people are now to blame for me losing my co-moderator, who was so good at it. And I feel guilty, as my getting sick was what dragged Phelps into this in the first place. I know, she's a grown-up, she could have said no. But neither of us could foresee that the List was going to explode within several months of my getting sick. Prior to that, moderating had been fairly easy, and we had no reason to think it wouldn't continue as such. It didn't, and I wasn't there to help out. I do feel badly about that.


Hm, what else? Not much, really. It was a lazy weekend. I stayed home Friday, supposedly working but really lolling about on the couch. I worked a bit on Dad's quilt, and got most of the cutting done. Saturday I went to the local quilt shop and spent too much money (and spent more money on a quilt book and fabric last night online -- but it was on SALE), and then Blue and I went out to dinner and shared (well, I drank it and he had a few sips) an incredibly huge margarita at Applebee's. The result of was that I came home and flaked out on the couch by 11:30. And yesterday I had to go with mom to Minnie's bridal shower, thrown by EngineerBoy's side of the family. All I really can say, is that I feel for Minnie but I'm glad I'm not the one dealing with those people as future in-laws. Just a really, really obnoxious bunch. EB's mom thought it was hilarious that EB's brother had dressed up two singing plastic skeletons as a bride and groom and put them by the door. Such a lovely sentiment, really. And, we had to play bridal bingo. Deadly. Minnie received, among other gifts, three crock-pots. I don't even have one.

Next Sunday we have our housewarming, and then the Sunday after that is the shower we are throwing for Minnie, which, fortunately, EB's family is not able to attend due to a "prior family commitment" -- another shower, for a niece. Apparently EB is very steamed that his mom thinks the niece's shower is more important than her future daughter-in-law's, which I can understand, but frankly we are just as happy that she's not coming. She is a hateful woman. And the oxygen tank she drags around with her is a health hazard -- she has an extra long cord and she wanders around trailing it behind her. I don't know how many times I nearly tripped over it yesterday. Mom actually made a comment about what would happen if someone "accidentally" stepped on it and cut off the air supply. I don't think she was kidding.

Really not much more to say. It's going to be a busy week, what with pacifying the List, finishing the first phase of the project at work, getting ready for the housewarming, and figuring out what the hell kind of games to play at the shower. Not bingo, that's for sure.

9:33 a.m. - 2001-10-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: