caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this space intentionally left blank

So in my continuing adventures with Smoking Guy outside the office building, this morning he returned my cell phone case, which I knew I had misplaced but figured was in my car somewhere, along with the watch I lost last year and possibly the remains of Jimmy Hoffa. My car is a pit, so when I lose something I just assume it's in there. Anyway, he claimed he knew it was mine because it was, natch, Powerpuff Girls-themed. A logical conclusion, granted. Still, odd. He claimed he found it hanging on a tree.

We were informed yesterday that we did indeed meet the first phase goal for our project, so we will be getting the initial bonus. Yay! Don't know exactly when that will be coming in, but since it's going right into savings I suppose it doesn't matter that much. I'm going to pretend like I never even had it.

This week at work I'm checking entries in the OCLC Authority File headings against record headings the computer spit out as being in some way incorrect. I have a stack of maybe 500 sheets of papers, each covered front and back with tiny lines of type, and I have to go through them LINE BY LINE. I'm going to go blind. I do find authority work slightly more interesting than other aspects of cataloging, however, like making sure subfields and line numbers are correct, which is what I've been doing the last couple of weeks. Authority headings have to be correct because that's what gives you subject access to the work when you search in the card catalog. They are very specific, and have to be ordered a certain way. My little librarian's soul loves that.

I have a horrid backache this morning. I think I twisted it funny in the shower, and now every time I turn from my keyboard tray to my desk it twinges. I feel like an old lady.

I've been feeling the creative urge in a major way lately. It's somewhat satisfied in the quilting and sewing, but I need something more. My problem has always been getting started. I thought seriously about doing NaNoWriMo, but I know I just don't have time to devote to it right now, never mind which I'm supposed to be limiting my sitting-at-the-computer-desk time so that my wrists and back can catch a break. I need to do something, though. I need to make myself sit down and just start. The problem isn't so much lack of ideas -- I have lots of those -- as lack of focus. I don't know where to begin. So I feel at loose ends, with the urge to write seething and my hands tied. It's frustrating.

10:38 a.m. - 2001-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: