caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mmm-mmm good

I am still very tired. One night of decent sleep is not enough to make up for 4 nights of less-than-decent sleep.

I find that I don't have much to write about today. Got home from work last night and crashed on the couch. I was tempted to take a nap, like Natalieeeeeeeeeee, but knew if I actually succeeded in falling asleep at 5:30 that I wouldn't be able to sleep at night. So I lolled about on the couch, feeling that I should be doing something productive but utterly failing to muster the energy to get up and decide what. I regaled Blue and YMB with the story of my splinter, but they were less than attentive, being busy destroying Mongol hoardes or something on PS2. I think there must be something left in there, because it's all red and swollen where the splinter was, and oozing gunk. Lovely.

I had canned soup for dinner -- in spite of those annoying commercials ridiculing people who like Campbell's soup, I still eat it all the time -- and roused myself to go to the den and watch the Buffy musical, which was highly entertaining. I really liked Xander's and Anya's number the best; it was sort of Astaire/Rogersish. And I was gratified that Sarah Michelle Gellar really can't sing. Something we have in common. I kept telling myself I was going to get up and get my stitching, or better yet some paperwork I'd brought home, but I just vegged in the recliner and let myself get sucked into the Buffyverse. Blue and YMB, ejected from the room with the video games, had their dinner, consisting of SpagghettiOs. Yes, it was processed food night in the Blue household. Read a few pages of the Edward Eager story we're reading aloud, put YMB to bed, and then tried to watch "24" but never could get into it. Fell asleep, predictably, on the couch, and Blue hauled me to bed a little later where I was out like a light until 7:30. Exciting stuff.

We decided we're going to take a few hundred dollars of my bonus -- which I get the first half of next week, yay -- and go up to Toronto Thanksgiving weekend. YMB has never been, and would be thrilled to pieces over crossing the border, never mind seeing the Hockey Hall of Fame and the CN tower. It's only a 4 or 5 hour drive from here, not counting however long it takes now to cross the border. It seems we can actually get "Lion King" tickets, and while I'm not hugely euthusiastic over seeing it, I keep hearing that the Toronto production is excellent, and it would be a good introduction to professional theater for YMB. It's also probably the one musical I could convince Blue to go see. And there's supposed to be a get-together of List people that weekend in Toronto, and all the Toronto listsibs I've conversed with seem really cool. So meeting them would be an added bonus. It's so nice for once to have money to actually do spontaneous things like this.

And tomorrow the plan is to go sofa-shopping. One of the local furniture chains (but NOT Gardner-White) is having a half-off sale. Yay.

Oh, and I forgot to mention yesterday that I now own my very own piece of Natalie handiwork. Neat.

Back to work. Boo.

9:52 a.m. - 2001-11-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: