caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's beginning to look a lot like -- gack

Just came back from a scary work-meeting where we were threatened (but nicely -- this is Grandma Boss, after all) with not getting the second half of our bonus if we don't get our butts in gear. Since we all thought that our butts WERE in gear, this was a bit annoying. Oh well. I'm not really worried about not getting it, since by the end of the meeting we'd basically concluded that hey, we are on target after all. Although I was not thrilled that GB kept making references to my missing time because I was sick. Gee, sorry I didn't come in and work that overtime while I was coughing up a lung last week.

May I just say, apropos of nothing, that I'm loving this Spike/Buffy thing on BtVS? Spike is really hot. Can't believe I'm saying that. And oh, I miss Giles already. But geez, after watching it last night (for which I figured out all by myself how to unhook the satellite receiver and hook up the bunny ears, since we don't have a UPN channel on satellite) I was hot. Unfortunately, Blue was tired, so it was all for nothing.

Ok, back from fantasyland. I need to get going on Christmas shopping and crafting, and we'll be gone most of this weekend so I won't get much, if anything done. I can take my stitching in the car on the drive up to Toronto, so I might be able to finish up a few little things that way. And it looks like I'll be putting in mega-overtime in the next two weeks. And I really just can't face the mall. So it looks like I'll be trolling the websites and hope that either ToysRUs or Etoys still has a decent supply of Harry Potter toys. It's going to be a very Harry Christmas at our house, but that's far better than the Pokemon fiesta we had last year. And the HP legos are really cool.

Besides YMB, we've got my dad and Blue's mom taken care. Have to buy a wedding/Christmas gift for Minnie & Engineer Boy, which just means trolling their Marshall Fields registry for something that's not way out of our budget. She has a $350 vase on there, for chrissakes, and her place settings are over $100 a piece. My entire table service (Fiestaware, if you care, in various colors) didn't cost that much, I don't think. I hope there's something in our price range left.

Don't have any ideas for Kitty and ControlFreak, or for Blue's dad or my mom. All our friends and extended family that we have to do something for are taken care of; nearly everyone's getting homemade craft stuff, which they'd damn well better appreciate. QueenV's getting a book, as usual, and perhaps the Barbie Trendy Loft playset, for the comfort of the Barbie for President 2000 I got her last year and the Cool Shaving Ken she recieved from me several years before that.

Blue's family makes it easy -- we draw names, set a price limit, and everyone makes a list of exactly which stores they would like gift cards for. Not terribly exciting, perhaps, but effective, and everyone's happy. We asked for Lowe's gift cards this year, since we still need all sorts of house and yard stuff, and we need to go pick up a Joanns Etc card for the crafty cousin and one from Best Buy or Media Play for her 16-year-old son. We stopped exchanging presents with the aunts and cousins in Mom's family a while ago, and just get little presents for the kids, which is easy. The kids in my family always get books from us. Not thrilling to them, but it's not like any of them need more toys.

So most of that stuff I can get in quick trips, or else order online. I do hope that minimizes my mall time this year. I love Christmas, I really do. I love Christmas music and cheesy tv specials and picking out a Christmas tree and wrapping presents -- and unwrapping them, of course! But I hate shopping, and I tend to get caught up in the madness and buy the first things that come to hand just so I can get it over with. So this year, with a bit of money to splurge with and time to plan, I hope to make it far more enjoyable. If only people didn't decide to get married the Saturday before Chrismas. What the hell was Minnie thinking???

10:29 a.m. - 2001-11-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: