caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

clean litter=Christmas romance?

I have no life-changing decisions to report yet.

Craft show with Mom on Saturday was mildly successful; I found a present for Kitty and CF, and some lovely mixed evergreens roping for our front porch. And I got to go to lunch at Red Lobster. And, we went to Sam's Club, where Mom and I both finished our holiday shopping for YMB, and I found little gifts (books, natch) for the younger cousins I'm obliged to buy for. For YMB I picked up the unabridged audio of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, and a nice grown-up looking art set. The tapes were a must; he has the tapes of Goblet of Fire and listens to them incessantly, so we need a change. And with those items, I hit within one dollar of our spending limit; yay me. Mom found a really nifty artist's easel, one of the things he'd asked for. Sam's is a great place, if one can stand the disorganization; you never know what you're going to find. I paid less than $20 for the tapes, which retail for around $40. And, I scored a copy of Sims Hot Date expansion pack, although I have to wait until Christmas since Mom ponied up for it.

The quilting part of the day did not go so well; in fact we never even got to the actual quilting since the fabric I'd brought for the backing of Dad's quilt turned out to be something like one-and-a-quarter inches to short. Aargh. So it's still sitting unfinished in my sewing room.

Yesterday I attempted to wrap present but ran out of tape only a few gifts in, so that was not terribly successful either. I did get most of the holiday cards made out, having found some left over from two years ago that weren't terribly Christmassy, and we accomplished some cleaning up. We didn't get the Christmas lights up, as by the time Blue returned with a borrowed ladder it was almost time for him to go pick up YMP from the Dementors and I was enmeshed in a phone conversation with Natalieeeeeeeeeeeeee in which the normal things were discussed: List annoyances, sex, family, jobs, shopping, figure skaters and their costumes. Not necessarily in that order. I didn't accomplish much else yesterday, although I did finish shopping for Blue as well; I was struck with this flash of inspiration while he was mumbling to himself and cleaning the cat box yesterday morning, and then I found one of those nifty automatic kitty litter thingys on sale at PetCo or one of those places, and decided it would be the perfect thing. I know that sounds incredibly unromantic and all, but really, he'll appreciate it. I'm a tad worried that the automated rake-thingy will send Miss Charlotte around the bend, but it also may be too late to worry about that anyway.

And now, back to work. I've been verifying authority file headings this morning (the name, title, and subject headings that allow you to find things in the online catalogs) and all I have to say is that I'm quite glad my last name isn't Badger, Butts, Belch, or Bacon. My school years were quite miserable enough as they were.

11:44 a.m. - 2001-12-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: