caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cheez-its galore

Work-related annoyance of the day: Some fool (actually, I know what fool, and fortunately he's in California now heading up some fancy-schmancy university project, and I wish them joy of him) screwed up hundreds of our Early English books cataloging records. This is part of the project we've been working on for weeks, and why I've been checking authority headings for days. Today's peeve: don't you think that someone who is not only college educated but has multiple advance degrees would realize that is is a tad redundant to put a date heading such as "17th century" or "1636-1780" on a record and then add "Early works to 1800"? Hello? If it was written in the 17th century, it doesn't take a huge leap of deductive reasoning to figure out that it was written before 1800.

There are hundreds of these. And I have to find every single one of them and delete them. Grrrrr.

I am eating Cheez-Its, because I didn't bring a lunch today and had to hand over my lunch money to YMB since I'd neglected to pack him a lunch this morning as well. I have a box of Cheez-Its stashed in my desk for just such emergencies. On the plus side, I am drinking a largish glass of water instead of carbonated caffeinated beverage. This is because my skin has been very dry and annoyingly itchy, and my hair's starting to do that fly-away thing, and I really am trying to be healthier. Really I am. Cheez-Its have wheat flour, skim milk, and cheese in them. Practically a health food, right?

Seriously, the itchiness is a major problem. Last winter I scratched so much that caused major bleeding wounds. And don't even get me started on fly-away hair. Blue has finally succeed in convincing me that all this dryness is in large part because I don't drink enough water, so I'm trying. I really am. But, oh, I need my caffeinated goodness. One would think that since it's been so warm and rainy all fall I wouldn't be as dried out, but no. It's supposed to hit 65 today, 70 if the sun comes out. This is Michigan. How ridiculous is that? Although it will make it handy this afternoon when we go to pick out our tree, and perhaps I can finally persuage Blue to finish hanging the lights.

I was being all philosophical in my thoughts on my way to work this morning, on a subject I've been pondering for some time, and I intended to write about that, but I think it needs to percolate a bit more first. So instead you get to hear about my breakfast of champions, and cataloging redundancies. Sorry.

Damnit, now I'm out of Cheez-Its. But you're impressed that I managend to find a semi-funny link for Cheez-Its, right?

Excuse me, I have to go get some more water.

I'm back. I forgot to gloat. Mimi, the hands-down funniest person on diaryland has little ol' me on her favorites list. I'm now up to SIX -- count 'em, SIX, regular readers. Okay, so I'll never be Uncle Bob. Who I'm not even linking to, because, hey, does he really need anymore promotion? But who said I wanted to be Uncle Bob anyway? I just want to be loved, is that so wrong?

10:21 a.m. - 2001-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: