caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy?

I was grumpy girl yesterday, nearly all day. So, today I am making an actual effort to be happy. Which turns out to not be as difficult as I anticipated, so far, since I came into work to find someone had brought in yummy homemade cheesecake. Cheescake for breakfast, can't beat that with a stick.

Well, you could, but then it would be smushed and it just wouldn't be the same.

I talked to Grandma yesterday and she actually seemed perky, although she was mean to Dad because the doctor then told her she couldn't drive, or go up and down stairs, things like that. But she did come home from the hospital yesterday, which is good. And if she does actually stop driving, that is a reason to be happy. Actually, it's a reason for all south-eastern Michigan drivers to be happy.

SHWP posted a lovely analysis of a Laura Ingalls Wilder book, which I've been enjoying fo the last couple of days, and that made me happy (as well as making me want to reread the Little House series). Although if she makes good on her threat to post on Melville, that will make me Unhappy. I have Melville Issues, dating back from when Mrs. A. made us read Billy Budd in 9th grade advanced English. Ick.

YMB found his lunchbox yesterday, which made HIM happy, since we'd refused to buy him a new one and he had to carry embarassing plastic sacks to school for his lunch.

This Friday marks the end of this horrid nightmare project at work, which makes me ECSTATIC. And Pierced Girl just showed me where there is a stash of purple Pilot roller ball pens, which makes me happy.

Two weeks from today is Christmas, which means that the wedding will be done, all my projects will be done, and I will have a chance to rest. Which is an extremely happy thought. We're doing Christmas on the 23rd with YMB this year, since it's his mom's turn to have him for Christmas Day. And Minnie and EB are leaving for their honeymoon on Christmas Day, since they can get extremely cheapo flights and stuff then. So we're having our family Christmas on Christmas Eve, and our only obigations on the Day are making sure we're at Blue's aunt's for dinner. Yay.

Happy.

I'm happy because I managed to finish shopping for YMB without ever entering a toy store, and I've only had to go to the mall once this month.

I'm happy that we have the resources to shop for YMB and our other family members. And I'm happy that I have the small talent to make things for people, and the kind of friends and family who will appreciate the work I've put into these things.

I'm happy that when this is all over at work and I've gotten the bonus, we will have the resources to start fertility treatments next year. And that we might be able to start as soon as February. I'm happy that there's even the possibility that by this time next year, we could have a baby.

So I do have lots of things, big and little, to make me happy. I know I do. I just have to remind myself sometimes. And to remember that even with all those things, there will be times when I will be unhappy, and that's ok too.

9:50 a.m. - 2001-12-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: