caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and if that isn't a true blue miracle...

I finished mailing off my Christmas cards this morning. Except for one, for someone for whom I have two address and I can't remember which one is the new one. I've sent cards to and received cards from England, Canada, Russia, and Germany, and twelve states. Which is pretty cool, and one of the reasons I'm trying to remember that most of the people I've met through the List are cool, and only a few of them give me the Urge to Kill.

But really. Is it so hard for people to print out or save an email with a reading schedule that was posted approximately two weeks ago, rather than flood the List with "what are we reading next" posts? Do I really have to lead them by the hand and post reminders at the beginning of every week about which story we are supposed to be discussing?

How did these people get through kindergarten, never mind college?

I've been listening to the John Denver & the Muppets Christmas CD, and getting all weepy. For one thing, there's lots of JD and Kermit singing together, and with both being dead, that's very sad. And many of the songs are really quite wise and touching. And there's one that JD sings to his new baby that has me in tears every time.

A savior King was born that day, a baby just like you.
And as the Magi came with gifts, I come with my gift too.
That peace on earth fills up your time and brotherhood surrounds you,
That you may know the warmth of love and wrap it all around you.

New baby, dead guy, blubber blubber.

You know what else I love? The Christmas Eve on Sesame Street special. I used to have the tape, and I haven't found it in a couple of years. And now all they show is the stupid Elmo Saves Christmas. They never show the classic old one, with Big Bird up on the roof waiting for Santa, and Kermit interviewing all those kids to see how they think Santa gets in, and Bert and Ernie doing O. Henry. And when they sing "Keep Christmas With You" in sign language, I just get chills every time. Oh, and "True Blue Miracle." I love that one too. Oh, I feel better just thinking about it.

I'm a Christmas dweeb. I can't help it.

I have to go after work for my final fitting for my bridesmaid's dress. I went two weeks ago and the woman was so mean. The dress had to be let out because, hello, it's a bridesmaid dress, and even in a size 14 those are made for 5-foot-10, 120 pound girls, and she made a comment about how I must have gained weight. Rude!

I have to go tonight for her to take up the straps and pin the hem, now that it's been let out. And if she says anything...

I will just hum about how my heart is filled with love this time of year, and think about Big Bird. And Ernie. And handmade Christmas cards from England. I have to stop letting people get to me.

9:55 a.m. - 2001-12-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: