caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

in case of fire, scream and duck

My husband set his hair on fire in the bathtub.

For many people, this statement would seem unlikely. Improbable, even.

For us, it's just another day chez blue.

We decided to try out the new spa mat we got for Christmas last night. Blue lit candles, I put on my new Diana Krall cd, and it was all very nice and soothing. The spa thingy is kind of loud, but it does bubble very nicely, rather like the real thing.

I think I have addressed before in here my issues with our master bath, mostly involvling the two huge mirrors on either side of our tub. No more. If it weren't for those mirror, I might have a horribly disfigured husband. I was sitting up at one end of the tub, trying to coax more hot water out of the tap, and Blue was leaning back on the other end. I looked up, and in the mirror I saw that Blue's head was smoking. Then suddenly a flame shot up behind him, my brain finally processed what I was seeing, and I started screaming. "YOUR HAIR'S ON FIRE! YOUR HAIR'S ON FIRE!" He looked at me uncomprehendingly for a couple of interminable seconds, then suddenly clapped his hand to the back of his head and beat out the flames, then ducked his head under the water.

What happened was, we have a ledge that surrounds our tub, and Blue had put one of the candles there at the back end. When he leaned back, he leaned a little too far and caught the candle flame. Fortunately there is no major damage aside from a few singed hairs. After my initial shock, I couldn't stop giggling, and the bathroom had the rather unpleasant burned hair aroma for the rest of the evening.

It rather ruined the moment.

7:55 a.m. - 2001-12-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: