caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

an adorable entry

Too funny. Lord of the Rings Very Secret Diaries. (Thanks to mechaieh for the link, who I also thank for the adorable birthday card.) I'm glad there's someone else who doesn't think Legolas is the beall and endall of sexiness. I mean, he's cute, but who wants a guy with better hair than you?

There's nothing I can really add to the ice skating debacle. I used to love figure skating. I knew all the competitors, knew their names, music, costumes, the whole things. I can't explain it, but there it is. But this latest is just the final nail in the coffin. It hurts to watch anymore. I swear I was almost in tears last night for Todd Eldredge. I have my own problems. I don't have energy to expend on rage at the asinine judging and obvious back-room deals and complete ludicrousness of the entire system. How can they stand it? How can you work twenty years to be the best you can be at something and then be told, sorry, no, not because you're not good enough, but because the judges from your country won't play the game.

I agree with Natalieeeeeeee, who is a far more rabid fan than even I. Figure skating should be banned from international competition until if and when they ISU pulls its head from its collective ass and fixes something.

I wholly admire the Canadian skaters for their grace under pressure; it must be really hard to sit and do an interview with Katie Couric and pretend you don't just hate the Russians, and the judges, and everyone else even remotely involved.

On to other things. The American men swept the snowboard half-pipe competition on Monday, although they were rather cheated out of their well-deserved attention because the ice skating controversy headlined every paper and morning news show. The snowboarders were awesome, and that's all there is to it. And you know, that's a sport that relies on judging, and yet it seems that somehow they manage to keep it pretty fair. The ISU should pay attention there.

And we had awesome medallists in speedskating and moguls yesterday. Go us!

I still want to slap Bob Costas fairly often, but he has had some good moments lately. He bought a round of drinks for a bar run by Kelly Clark's (the women's half-pipe gold medalist) brother, after his suggestion during an interview that said brother should buy one for the house led to the brother actually buying said round and being several hundred dollars out of pocket. He reimbursed the guy, and bought another round for the house. And last night, reporting on the NBC online poll where 200,000 people voted and 96% of them said the Canadians should have won the pairs gold, his comment was "that's the biggest margin since kindergartners were asked which they prefer, milk or prune juice."

Bob tries. He also, apparently, sits in front of a fake fire.

I went the dentist this morning. Evil sadist hygenist lady not only kept viciously poking my gums with with felt like an icepick, but kept talking to me the ENTIRE TIME. And asked me questions. WHY do they do that?

And I'm going to PT in just an hour or so. And it's Evil Knee Day. Wahh.

I finished entering all our debts and income and bills and stuff on Evil Microsoft Money last night, and it feels like a major accomplishment. If I can just remember to keep up with it, it ought to do a lot to get our budget balanced. It feels like we're finally do something about it, at least, even though it has made a big impact yet. At least we've woken up to our financial situation and where we're actually at.

Money adds up for you how much debt you actually have. Gah. Didn't want to see that. But the budget planner system is actually pretty nifty, and the less math I actually have to do, the better, as far as I'm concerned.

My log cabin quilt is coming along really well. I've got most of the blocks more than half-finished now, and I think it's going to be adorable. Maybe someday I'll get all our peripherals working again and will be able to post a scan. Also found my QSnaps last night, so I can start my new cross-stitch. Meant to start last night, but it's hard to stitch and watch skating at the same time.

I have used the word "adorable" twice in this entry. I think that means it's time to stop.

12:54 p.m. - February 13, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: