caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i'm baaaaackkkkkk

Ok, so I'm back, sort of. It's been quite a week. Computer crashed, sick kid, sick me, a couple of panic attacks, insaneness at work. Gah. But the computer is fixed, thanks to my new favorite brother-in-law EngineerBoy, and I'm sort of normal for the time being. But it would take far too much time and effort to recap the whole week, so I'm not going to. Instead, I present the following:

The 2nd Anniversary Dinner of Blue and Caerula, or, Why We Are Not Fancy People

Date: March 11, 2002
Scene: Very nice Ann Arbor restaurant.

Blue: Do you want your asparagus?
Caerula: No. I don't particularly like asparagus. Besides, now it just reminds me too much of Junior on VeggieTales.
Blue: Well, I'll take it.
(He spears a couple of asparagus stalks and cuts them up, while Caerula winces and looks away)
Caerula: You're killing Junior!
Blue: Nah, these are too tall to be Junior.
Caerula: Well, then, they're that other guy. The tall stuffy asparagus. Archibald. You're killing Archibald!
Blue: I am not! Those are computer-generated talking asparagus. This is actual asparagus you eat.
Caerula: I don't care! You're killing him! How could you!
(Later, after Caerula has several more sips of her key lime martini)
Caerula, staring at remaining asparagus on her plate: You know how much I want to stand up one of these asparagus and make it dance and sing the Water Buffalo Song?
Blue: You wouldn't. That's not a dare, by the way. And anyway, Archibald doesn't sing the Water Buffalo Song, Larry does. And he's a cucumber.
Caerula: You know if we weren't at the fancypants restaurant I totally would anyway.
Blue: If we weren't at the fancypants restauarant there wouldn't even be asparagus on your plate.
Caerula: This is true. It's a sign. I'm supposed to make it dance.
(Caerula looks around to see if Snooty Waiter is watching)
Blue: Even if no one else sees you, I would.
Caerula: You've seen me do lots stupider things than that. And you still love me.
(At this fortuitous moment, Snooty Waiter collects our plates)
Caerula: It's a good thing he took my plate away when he did.
Blue: I know it is.
Caerula: I'm going to the restroom. Do you know where the restroom is?
Blue: It's where we came in, just past the lobster tank. Wave at the lobsters as you go by.
(Caerula stands up)
Blue: Um, don't actually stand there and wave at the lobsters. Just sort of flutter your fingers at them and keep walking.

10:24 p.m. - March 12, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: