caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what happens when you hold the bird's tail for too long?

Just a few brief observations today, since I am actually busy at work doing actual work stuff, and won't feel like sitting at the computer when I get home:

Finally found Coraline, by Neil Gaiman, at the library. It is an awesome book, but also the fucking freakiest children's book EVER. I think I may have nightmares. And it's worse, because I'm listening to it read by the author, and I've listened almost straight through today at work. Very effective in passing the time. Not so effective in preventing nightmares. Cripes, does he ever do creepy voices well. Scary. He's like the Christopher Walken of fantasy authors.

Don't get me wrong. It's a good book. Gaiman is a frigging fantastic writer. But I would really not recommend this to sensitive children, or people with heart conditions, or pregnant woman...


Woke up this morning with my left foot is swollen to approximately twice the size of my right. Just talked to the nurse at my doctor's office, who said she thought they should see me "if it's still swollen next week." And take Motrin. Gee, thanks.


Started tai chi last night. I think I'm going to like it. The first move we learn is called "Holding the Bird's Tail." Last night we looked like a bunch of old people doing a duck walk. But I did feel very relaxed afterwards. And Blue was off last night, so when I got home I got some smoochy. So all in all, life at the moment is pleasant.


That's all, folks.

3:19 p.m. - September 19, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: