caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bitching and moaning

Grr. The Evil Insurance Company fricked up my disability AGAIN. There was some sort of miscommunication between the doctor�s office and the EIC, and I�m not really sure who was more at fault, but the end result it that it�s been over two weeks since I�ve gotten the half of my paycheck they are supposed to be providing. It�s not as bad as in the fall, when I was off work completely and got no check except for what they deigned to send me, but it still cuts our income by nearly one-third when they decide not to send it to me. So now again I�m waiting for them to clear it up and decide I can get money again. The woman from the insurance company was really condescending to me on the phone today, too. Blah.


Today was good; I took a vacation day from work so that I could take a machine quilting class from Sue Nickels, my quilting goddess. She was at the local quilt shop yesterday and today, which was an opportunity not to be missed. I wish I could have taken the appliqu� class she did yesterday as well, but between the two I�m much more likely to use machine quilting skills. It was an all day thing and my neck and back are fairly achy from sewing at a folding table, but other than that it was a great experience. I learned that I am much better at stipple and meander quilting than I am at following a marked pattern, although I was assured that following the lines just takes practice. I�m also better at quilting curvy designs than ones with straight lines, which is a little bizarre but I think it�s just a quirk of my 30-year-old Bernina and the lack of a decent even-feed foot. Sue�s an awesome teacher and a nifty person, so the class was an enjoyable experience even if it was a long day. Her machine quilting skill is enviable; she just seems to whip right through even the annoying stuff, like pin-basting and marking. I suppose years of practice helps with that, and also more patience than I currently possess. Someday.


So the good news is that they think Kitty won�t have to have a C-section after all; her ultrasound last week showed that the placenta and baby both have shifted enough that they think she�ll be ok. The bad news is that they think the baby is still too small compared to what it should be, so she has to go back for some more tests and things to see if they can figure out why. It may be nothing; Kitty is a small person (she�s 4�11�) and there�s just not that much room in there, apparently, but they have to make sure. Also her mother-in-law is driving her insane and her husband the Control Freak isn�t helping; she want Mom in the delivery room if she does end up going all through labor, but she doesn�t want CF�s mom. They aren't that close and frankly CF�s mom is just a bitch, always running Kitty down and complaining about how she does stuff. I wouldn�t want her around me when I felt good, never mind when I was trying to give birth. So CF�s pulling this "if you don't want my mom there than I don't want your mom there" crap, which is ridiculous; Kitty�s the one in LABOR, and she should get to decide. Kitty and Mom are really close, and it�s always bugged CF, like he�s jealous or something; I wish Kitty would just stand up to him and tell him look, I�m giving birth, it might be really difficult, and I need my mommy. Mom is just one of those people who are awesome to have around in any kind of stressful situation. She handles emergencies really well, stays very calm, and is a very soothing person. I would totally want her with me if I was in labor, or in the hospital period. Anyway, I�ll stop, as I could rant about it for ages and it would get really boring. It�s just that the way CF and his family treat Kitty drives me nuts, like she�s 5, or some kind of cute but vaguely annoying pet. And it makes me insane that she lets them get away with it, when she was always stubborn as a rock before she hooked up with CF, and wouldn�t let anyone get away with anything, even when she should have. But she just sits down and lets CF walk all over her. I really don�t understand it.


I�m renewing my gold membership tomorrow (well later today by the time Andrew lets me add this), people, I promise, so you�ll have your images back and I�ll have mine back, and I�ll have my optional fields working again too. And I can update when I want, grr. I�m sorry, but I think that�s obnoxious. I know Gold members are paying for the perks, but free members are what got Diaryland going and if there weren�t free users there wouldn�t BE any Gold people to send you money, Andrew dear. Think about it. Anyway, just have to wait for Blue to get paid due to the aforementioned lack of disability pay, and I�ll be back to normal.


I�m tired and running out of things to whine about, so I think I�ll go to bed now. Tomorrow (tonight) Blue�s going to a Plymouth Whalers game with Ess & Smartkid, and YMB is going to the Dementors, so Mom and I are having a girls' night. I need company, and she needs to unwind from her visit with Kitty (more from CF then anything else, I�m sure). We�re going to watch "The Importance of Being Earnest" on DVD and eat fried shrimp. Not terribly exciting, I know, but should be a good night for a couple of serious homebodies.

12:09 a.m. - March 14, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: