caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

blah blah blah

Diaryland ate the update I tried to put in yesterday, and I was too tired to reconstruct it. Oh well.

Why I did not watch the Oscars:
1. I don't care what Gwyneth Paltrow was wearing.
2. Neither Joan Rivers nor Russell Crowe are allowed on my television.
3. I don't do anything for four and a half hours.
4. I fell asleep at quarter after nine.

The answer, of course, is 5. All of the above.

Blah, blah, blah weekend. Friday night Blue and I were going to have wild passionate sex, and instead we both fell asleep within 10 minutes of hitting the bed. Sigh. Saturday, book sales, and then we went over to Mom & Dad's, where YMB played with Faith, who is staying with Mom while Minnie and EB are in Florida visiting friends, and watched The Worst Movie Family Movie Ever on HBO Family. I'm serious. High school plays have better production values and acting ability than this movie. These kids went back in time, or got sucked into a painting of a medieval world, or something, I'm not sure what, and they got burped out into this new dimension via a magic haystack. Oh, and they could communicate with their little sister, back in their home world, with their walkie-talkies. Because they had special multi-dimensional walkie-talkies, I guess. Mom and I were in hysterics over how bad this movie was, and YMB was getting upset because it was near impossible to restrain the snark factor.

Then we went out to dinner at Fazoli's (YMB's choice) and got ice cream. Came back and chatted with Nata while watching figure skating and being snarky about Dick Button. Blue worked Saturday night and I had a surreal night on the couch watching Changing Rooms on BBC America. Every now and then I'd drift off and have weird dreams about redecorating, because of course I could still here the commentary from the television. I find Changing Rooms far superior to Trading Spaces. I'm not sure why. There's the thrill of the accents, of course, and the unattractive English people, and their oddly English homes. And the inevitable gay couples, presented as "flatmates." What I really love, though, is how the one thing that the owners specifically don't want touched is the first thing to get screwed with, while what they hate stays exactly the same. Note to self: If ever on Changing Room, make sure to emphasize how much I loooove whatever it is I hate most about the room in question.

Yesterday Blue slept, and YMB goofed off and got on my nerves by whining incessantly, and I finished piecing my quilt top. All that's left to finish the top is to finish sewing the rows of blocks together and add the border. Then it's on to the actual quilting process. I'd like to finish it by next weekend, if I can, so I can take it in to the quilt store for their quilt show in May.

We went to dinner with Mom and the in-laws last night for Blue's birthday, which is actually day after tomorrow. He's going to be 33. It was sort of a blah dinner, actually � the food was good, but we had to wait a long time for it; we were seated directly under the huge tvs showing NCAA games; our waitress was exceedingly flight, but not entertainingly so, and FIL was pissy for reasons that are too stupid and complicated to explain. And poor Blue had no presents; his parents haven't gotten him anything yet because they had yet to talk to him about what he wanted, and his present from me is actually on order and we don't know when it will get here, and Mom hasn't had a chance to go shopping yet. Poor guy.

We got home around nine, and I was so exhausted that I went right to bed after we tucked YMB in. Blue had to work again last night, and normally I stay up with him until he leaves, but I could not even keep my eyes open. I was sound asleep by 9:15, I didn't even hear him leave. Then I was awoken around midnight by YMB, who had had a bad dream or something; he crawled into bed with me because he said he couldn't sleep in his room. And proceeded to fall immediately to sleep, taking over the whole bed in the process, so that between him and the dog I kept waking up all through the night to find myself getting kicked in the stomach or the head, or relegated to one corner, or missing pillows or blankets. It was not exactly the most restful night. Sigh.

And Blue and I never did manage to have any kind of sex, let alone the wild passionate kind.

10:20 a.m. - March 25, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: