caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stanley Cupp?

It's days like this that I wish I was still ignorant enough to take Vivarin.

Note to self: do not combine Hostess orange cupcakes and Tropicana Twister orange strawberry banana burst juice beverage. Shudder.

I got about 4 hours of sleep last night. I think I'm still running on adrenaline. Wore Blue's Shanahan jersey into work today. People have already expressed their doubts of getting anything productive out of me this morning. People are probably right. But I'm trying!

I�m still hyped. Seriously. Clicking back and forth between the ever-awesome Freep coverage and actual work. Have gotten several comments on the jersey wearing. Someone tried to tell me that hockey season was over, it was time to gear up for pre-season football.

Uh-uh. I've got a parade to go to! Taking a vacation day Monday (thank you, Grandma Boss) to go downtown and see the Victory Parade. Blue went to the last two, but I've never been, and I'm not going to miss out this time.

Jesus Pete. Then YMB has three half-days of school, I work four days, and we're off on vacation. It�s just snuck up on me. I'm not nearly ready. Damn.

And then home for the 9th birthday extravaganza the weekend of the 29th. Oh, and then YMB-free for three weeks. We'll miss him like hell, but that first week � a three day week, due to the blessed long 4th of July weekend � peace and quiet, and sleep. Ahhh. I can hardly wait.

Favorite pre-game moment: Dorky local sports guy (yes Bernie, I mean you) interviewing a guy, somewhere, whose name is Stanley Cupp. And asking Mrs. Cupp, "Does the Stanley Cupp steal the covers at night?" and this little old Cupp couple clearly communicating to each other with their eyes that this guy's an idjit, but hey, it got them on tv.

Favorite post-game moment: Yet another idjit reporter shoves a mike in Hasek's face and asks if he's going to be back next year. McCarty, my hockey boyfriend, is standing next to Dom with his arm around him. Dom, never very coherent in the first place, stutters out that he'd really just like to enjoy this moment and not worry about that for a few days. McCarty gets in the reporter's face and says "Next guy to ask him that question, I'm gonna kick their ass. Leave him alone." Hasek just grins, and they walk away. Priceless.

And soon I will stop talking hockey and be back to my normal (heh) self. I promise. One non-hockey related commented: I have now sucked at least three more people into reading The Eyre Affair, still the best book I've read this year. And I released a BookCrossing book this morning (cheesy but decent romance by Christina Dodd), snuck it into the chips aisle at the gas station where I stopped to buy my Freep and juice. Note attached: "Love me and Leave me! Really!" with bookcrossing info taped below. I hope someone picks it up before the tidy up that aisle and toss it.

11:31 a.m. - June 14, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: