caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

curses, foiled again

Yesterday morning my hair dryer tried to kill me.

It�s been that sort of week.

I got out of the shower and proceeded to comb out my hair and blow dry it like a normal person. Then I flicked off the hair dryer. As I did this, a huge spark shot out of the back of the hair dryer and the entire circuit blew. And I�m talking spark as in "jet of flame," not "wimpy 4th of July sparkler." Fortunately I was holding the hair dryer away from myself and my hair did not catch on fire. The smell of singed hair was quite prevalent, however. I could hear Blue in the kitchen so I started yelling that the hair dryer was on fire. He came into the bathroom and when he understood what I was saying, he just rolled his eyes. Like my grooming appliances try to kill me every day and he�s sick of hearing about it or something.

So now of course I was scared of the hair dryer, but my hair was still somewhat damp and it was freezing out. So I venture that perhaps the surge did not actually harm my roller-brush-dryer thingie, as it has a reset button I could try. I took it into the bedroom (since the bathroom circuit was blown, duh) and plugged it in. No flames. Then I turned it on. I heard a loud popping noise and smelled the nasty burned hair smell again. Then I realized the thing was smoking. When I carefully went to unplug the cord, I realized the wire had actually burned through the cord where it connected to the roller, and the two were now completely separate entities, both of which had lots of bare wire showing. Another murder attempt foiled by the lack of flammable things in my bedroom.

Who does this happen to, really? Besides me, I mean. And why does this sort of thing always happen to me?

2:33 p.m. - February 22, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: