caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dr. Hunk and the drool

The dental visit day before yesterday was nasty. They had to work on molars on both sides of my mouth, so I got the shots on both sides. Granted the shot is the worst part, and that's over pretty quickly, but still. Shots in the mouth hurt like hell. And then I was numb from my upper lip down to my chin and back to both ears, for like 5 hours. I had to actively prevent myself from chewing on my lip while it was numb, it was so tempting. Because it feels like you've had the mother of all Botox injections and your lips are twice the size of Goldie Hawn's, with the added adornment of Jay Leno's chin. It's all just due to the numbness, of course, but every time I looked in a mirror I was amazed that my face didn't look like some bizarre carnival caricature of myself. Added to the misery is the fact that my dentist is a hunk. I know he sees drool all the time, but still. My old dentist was a grandpa-like guy who I'd been going to since I was 4. He used to say things like "pretty teeth for a pretty girl", and then mom would take us to the dime store next door if we were good and I'd get a new Trixie Belden book. Dr. Hunk joined the practice while I was living in SC and didn't go to the dentists due to lack of insurance, and then he took over when Dr. Grandpa retired. So now I go and get embarrassed by my weak non-cooperative teeth. Sigh.

Anyway, after the dentist I went to the library and found the new Pratchett and the new Claire Malloy book by Joan Hess, so it's all good. Chatted (or, more accurately, mumbled) with former boss and former co-worker, which was entertaining as always. Boss as usual regaled me with her tales of health woe, but former co-worker is a wonderful, highly entertaining, underpaid and over-qualified cataloging clerk whom I really miss talking to, so it was good to catch up with her. Even though she was a bit squicked by the way I kept having to pull my lips away from my teeth to keep them from sticking together. And she put the new Donna Andrews (Murder with Peacocks, etc.) mystery on reserve for me, to ensure that I'll be back in somewhat less than 5 months. I had $14 in fines, people. I was a tad broke to come back to the library until now. Fine example of a librarian I am. Ex-boss forgive half of that, because most of those were from November when I was in a cast and couldn't exactly get to the library, and instead of returning the books Blue chose instead to carry them around in his car for a month. So, fines. One would think, professional courtesy and all, she might have just forgiven the entire thing, but whatever.

So yesterday my face seriously hurt and I mostly avoided computer time except for work. It just hurt to hold my head up, never mind look at the computer screen. Instead I came home from work, napped for an hour, had applesauce for dinner, and, natch, watched the AI results show. Two nights ago, Swwoop and I were rather let down that Josh-the-Marine didn't sing "God Bless the USA" for country theme night, and I commented, well, we still have the group sing. So I wasn't surprised, although I was horrified, when they did indeed pull that one out for the grouporama. Talk about making your face hurt. When the phone rang as it went to commercial, I picked up and said "We called that one, huh?" and Swwoop started cracking up. So we dissected the rest of the show over the telephone instead of AIM and I was able to go to bed somewhat early for a change. So. Very. Close to losing KimberMe CameraHo off my television. But Julia looked relieved to be going home, so good for her. And I can't wait to see what KimHo decides to wear next week. I just hope they really do disco night next time, or I may have to boycott.

Oh, who am I kidding. I can't boycott, I'd miss my Clay fix. Seriously, he is just the cutest thing ever. I just want to pat him on the head. Except that his weirdly spiky hair would probably hurt my hand.

I actually chose to watch AI results over Angel last night. And I was all tortured about what to do Tuesday night with Buffy vs AI, but then hockey was on UPN so at least I didn't have to choose between Clay and Spike. But Clay and Angel? Sorry, David Boreanaz, no competition.

1:51 p.m. - March 27, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: