caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Easter blahs

I'm officially disgusted with the weather. This entire week is supposed to average 10-15 degrees below normal, which means instead of balmy sixties we're going to be shivering in the 40s. It's April, damnit. And the weather was decent this past weekend, mostly sunny and in the 50s, which is just another function of living in Michigan. The Spring Tease.

Easter weekend. Felt blah and kind of sick. Blue worked midnights all weekend, which means he slept most of the time. I slept much of Saturday too, actually, and sort of moped around the rest of the time, not accomplishing much of anything. Easter is just not a big deal anymore with us, which is unfortunate but true. Kitty and CF go to church and spend the day with his parents; Minnie and EB go to church with his parents. We didn't go to church this year; although we did last year, we haven't found another church we liked since we stopped going to that one. YMB is always with his mom's family for the weekend; it's one of the things they demanded in the custody settlement, so we don't even dye eggs or anything. As far as I can tell, Blue's family doesn't do much of anything as far as a family get-together, although some of the cousins do go to church, I believe. Blue's parents don't go to church, and my Mom & Dad never go to church.

When I was little we did. We'd get up early and open our Easter baskets, candy and little token presents. We had new dresses that Mom had made for us. My favorite, from when I was around 6 or 7, was deep pink, with ruffles around the sleeves and neck and a deep ruffle around the hem, trimmed with eyelet lace. We went to church, and then we went to Gramma and Grampa's house, where we had more candy, an egg hunt (outside, weather permitting, if not, then in the basement), and a big dinner with all the relatives.

We stopped going to church when I was maybe 10. I don't remember exactly. I remember why we stopped; we'd gone to the same church forever, the same one my parents had grown up in, where they met and where they got married. The year we stopped going, the pastor had gotten in trouble for embezzling from the church. I was little, and I didn't understand everything that happened, but I'm sure it had something to do with the fact that Dad was church treasurer. I don't know if he discovered the scam, or if he was implicated, or what. But we didn't go back there, and I think it sort of turned Mom & Dad off organized religion. We tried a few different churches, but never found a place where we were comfortable.

After that Easter was never a big deal. We still went to Gramma & Grampa's for dinner, until Grampa died six years ago and Gramma stopped doing big family dinners. Now Gramma and the two aunts who live with her go out for dinner. Mom makes dinner, but this year Minnie and EB didn't make it down. We came and stayed a couple of hours, then had to leave for the three hour round-trip to pick up YMB. There wasn't much more to it than any other Sunday, and that makes me kind of sad. Easter used to be special, and now it's pretty much just another day.

We did give YMB his Easter basket when we got home, and he was thrilled with his new roller-shoe thingies. They look like sneakers, but there's some contraption that lets you pop down little roller-blade like wheels from the bottom. He wore them until we made him take them off at bedtime. So someone had a good day, at least.

9:39 a.m. - April 01, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: