caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the lure of ebay

FYI: Auctioning your stuff off on Ebay can very quickly become an obsession. Last night I was wandering around the house looking for more stuff to sell. I'm contemplating going out and BUYING things, just so I can SELL them. Blue thought I was nuts until I told him how much money we'd made this week. Not tons, granted, but between Ebay, Amazon, and Half.com, in the last two weeks we've more than covered the nasty bank check-bouncing fees and have even made a bit to put into savings. Woohoo.

Of course the other problem with selling on Ebay is that it nearly inevitably leads to bidding on Ebay. See, you have to go look at similar stuff to see what it's selling for, and then you start thinking, wow, that's a great price, I should bid on that. And then you do. And it gets away from you quickly. Good for sellers, not so good for buyers. So what I'm doing is that anything I have the urge to bid on, I put on my watchlist instead, and make myself think about it for 48 hours. And I set very low limits for myself.

I did just a couple of days ago get two half-yards of linen for cross-stitch for under 20 bucks, including postage. Which is a really, really good deal.

And get this: ONE Sunfire Romance I listed three days ago. One. Retailed for 2.99 in the 1980s. Not even a quality book. Silly teen romance. Doesn't even pretend to be historically accurate. It's up to $22.00 and there are four days left on the auction. Who knew? Not I, said the duck. But I will certainly be haunting used books sales for Sunfires!

I remembered finally to bring my stitching stuff with me to work today, and I swear at lunchtime I'm going to start that sampler. I want to get to work on that cute purple bunny!

Actually, it almost IS lunchtime, so despite having said nothing of note, I�m off.

11:22 a.m. - February 14, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: