caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

flowers and things

Oh my god, am I tired. Spent the morning playing Sims, working outside a little � much easier without the cast, by the way, and I also took lots of pictures � and trying to get back into the book-selling mood, organizing some inventory. Blue has worked the last three nights in a row, and went to bed right away after getting home this morning; I think the celebratory, ahem, activities on the couch last night after the Wings game, while sending him off to work in a good mood, did him in by three am or so. But, you know, adrenaline does do wonders for the sex drive. Let�s just say it�s a good thing we didn�t go down to the bar to watch the game; I don�t think our post-game activity would have been exactly, uh, allowed. It�s not that kind of bar, you know.

Anyway, around one-ish today, Mom picked me up and we did the garage sale/flea market things � a couple of good books, some great 80s era cassette tapes, a Bush cd and a nifty Ladies Home Journal tin for my sewing room. We went on to the Friends� bookshop at YDL, and I made a great haul there � the brand new Laurie King book, Justice Hall for three bucks, and a 1st hc of Connie Willis�s The Doomsday Book for a buck. And some paperbacks that will sell well, and some cheapo pbs to Read and Release. Then, since we are insane, we went on to Kohl�s and their 50% off sale; Kristian and I both acquired new summer clothes. I had to get some shorts and tanks, since the ones from last summer don�t fit me anymore, wah. I did find some cute things though; they actually had some adorable plaid capris in a 16 petite. Yay for Kohls. So I am outfitted for the summer, except for the one nice dress I was going to purchase for Blue�s cousin Rachel�s wedding in July, except it was only 30% off instead of the 50% I�d thought. That made it a tad pricey, so that went back, lovely as it was � pale yellow, sort of floaty, with hot pinky flowers � but I�m sure I could go back in a couple of weeks and find it marked down even more. And some earrings and a cool pair of sunglasses with pink lenses. Yay for having some spending money again!

Oh, and in mom-gossip, apparently my dad is having his mid-life crisis. He wants to buy a motorcycle. Of course, he�s not leaving my mom and going off to Russia, so it could be worse. Mom also filled me in on all the latest Insane Grandma gossip, but I�m too tired to even try and explain. Except I just have to mention that despite the fact she�s not supposed to be driving, she recently went somewhere and bought a chainsaw. I don�t know, don�t ask me.

We ended up not following through on any of our other plans, including a trip by WalMart for some potting soil and garden stuff, and still didn�t get home until nearly 8. So exhausted. But on the upside, Mark got all the sleep he needed, and I wasn�t home bored all day while he slept. So it all worked out, except that I am exhausted and spent way too much time walking around. My foot will be swollen again in the morning � yes, Mom, I did ice it down � and tomorrow will definitely be a day of rest.

Sophie needs to go out (she won�t do her business if we don�t go out with her and watch, freaky exhibitionist dog), and I need to go to bed. Later, gators.

(Wait for my flower pictures to load, pretty please?)

The beginnings of our little flower bed.

My columbine is actually blooming!

I know I should know, but can someone tell me what this is? I know it's a really common flower, but I am just drawing a blank. Help!


And I promised YMB I'd put in a picture of "his" flower -- he's supposed to take care of it and keep it alive, it's one of his new jobs. We'll see. He's done well so far.

And to finish things off, welcome to our front porch.

2:54 a.m. - June 02, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: