caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

let me off!

So all in all it has not been a bad weekend. I�ve been screwing around with the computer all day and can�t get either the scanner or the printer to work, but on the upside, I haven�t killed my husband. So it�s all good. The boys are in the living room watching the SuperBowl, and I�m in the den updating and downloading .wav files and trying not to yell at the computer. How can it not find the scanner? It�s right there! Right next to it!

Anyway. Long talk with Blue Friday night over the thing where he lied to me and pissed me off royally. I think the situation is basically resolved. I ended up telling him that it will take me a little while to get over this, which I think he gets, and it evolved into a discussion of his whole difficulties with open communication in certain subject areas. I am still upset over his lack of honesty, but I do believe it was an isolated incident, and that there was no ulterior motive to his lying other that he really was embarrassed over what he did and didn�t know how to tell me. So that�s that, and I�m trying to let it go.

I feel like there was something else I really wanted to write about, and it�s just gone. What�s left is another boring description of my weekend. Yesterday we went over to my parents for a little while, while Blue�s parents took YMB sledding with some of Blue�s little cousins. Minnie and EngineerBoy came by as well, and the boys ended up helping dad unload the mega amounts of firewood he�d purchased while their power was out for three days after the ice storm.

I don�t think I really mentioned the ice storm. It was a pretty big deal, actually; there were thousands of people with power outages � although ours never went out and I don�t know why, since south and north of us no one had power, and to the east coverage was fairly spotty. Thursday and Friday both were snow days; Thursday I stayed home with YMB, and Friday I wimped out on getting up and driving at 7:30, so I called and canceled PT and lolled around for a couple of hours, then I took YMB over to hang out with SmartKid and Buttercup, and actually got a few hours of work in. Yeah, there was a lot of ice. Lots of trees down. Cold. Snow. Well, we live in Michigan. You�d think people would have grasped by now the concept that these things may happen in the winter. But no, we get Chuck Gaidica (or however you spell his name), Detroit�s big celebrity weather guy, looking seriously at the camera and telling us it�s pretty slippery out there. And junior newspeople standing by the side of major roads to report on accidents, which seem less than intelligent on the part of the people who plan these things, unless they are trying to get rid of said junior newspeople. And by yesterday it had warmed up enough that now we�re pretty much left with a bunch of wetness and mud and really dirty cars.

So�Saturday. Worked on the quilt-in-progress. Went to mom & dad�s. EB and Minnie came back to our house with us and EB, my new favorite in-law-type-person, spiffed up the computer with a new processor and memory chips he snagged from work, which is the reason for all the uninstalling and reinstalling and defragging and printer-not-workingness today. Although the printer wasn�t working before, and the things that ARE working are definitely working better. Thus the downloading of Buffy WAV files, so I can have Spike saying something snarky for an error message instead of just an annoying ding.

Went to the hospital to visit Blue�s uncle who actually did have a heart attack while shoveling snow on Friday. Although it was very minor and he seems mostly fine now. Met the inlaws and YMB there, saw the results of YMB�s sledding in the form of a lovely swollen and turning-black eye and severely scratched-up facial features. I was all ready to be all motherly and sympathetic, and then realized YMB was busily describing to uncle how COOL his faceplant was, so I decided to refrain. I don�t get boys. Any girl would have so been playing up the sympathy angle, but YMB is apparently rather proud of his battle scars. Sigh.

Today. Blah. Blue slept off his audit shift, I screwed with the computer, YMB played playstation and watched cartoons and read his Star Wars book. Took YMB to the new library that we can�t actually get cards at because we are a township too far, but we can use our Michicards there so that�s cool except that they limit you to three items per card. It�s a gorgeous building, all glass and cozy armchairs and a fireplace and a colorful kids area. And they have self check-out stands, which is cool. And I got The Graveyard Game, which I�ve been dying to read.

Then I caved and we got lunch at McDonalds, came home and woke up Blue, read half my book, and came back to the computer. It�s a crazy whirligig of fun, folks.

8:32 p.m. - February 03, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: