caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hail to the conquering heroes...

I normally don't care too much about pro football. This is Lions country, after all, what is there to care about? But watched the second half of the game with Blue last night, and can only say WOOHOO! Go Pats! Hail to the Victors! (Tom Brady, as mechaiah points out as well, is a U-M grad, and in our house there was no one to make us stop singing "Hail to the Victors."

Now on to the snarky comments. For the first half of the game I was in the den and just caught the bits Blue called out to me to look over for � Mariah Carey singing the national anthem was not something I really needed to see. And George Herbert Walker doing the coin toss in the name of patriotism. Whatever. I did like the halftime show � U2 is almost always awesome � and the scrolling banner with the names was far more effective than soppy Paul McCartney doing the pregame thing. Of course Terry Bradshaw singing with McCartney was something I needed to see even less than Mariah in her three-sizes-too-small dress.

The commercials: Britney Spears as a flower child was something I could have lived with out. Also Britney in the 50s, 60s, and channeling Robert Palmer. Actually, I could live entirely with Britney at all, but thanks to Pepsi that was not to be the case. Almost makes me want to switch to Coke products. I liked the dive-bombing, beer-grabbing falcon and the one with Kevin Bacon, although Visa's concept of how difficult it is to write a check is getting a little old. I got really tired of the Mlife commercials; they are obviously supposed to make one curious, but apparently I have no curiosity, and all the belly buttons didn't do a thing for me. I can't believe Anthony Hopkins did a movie with Chris Rock. I don't get the whole Scorpion King premise � is it a prequel, what? How do they set the Rock up as a hero-type when we know he ends up as a giant bug-guy? Oh well. I missed the Clydesdales and thought Rudy Guiliani looked very dignified in his spot. On the whole, the commercials didn't strike me as nearly as entertaining as usual. Nothing to top the herding cats commercial from several years ago.

Haven't updated the fertility blog in a while, only because there's no news on that front. The next round of shots � if we decide we can afford it � should start around Valentines Day. We might have to wait through one more cycle, though, because of financial issues. Blecch.

YMB went back to school today, after his snow-induced two-school-day week last week, wearing his scrapes and bruises proudly. I'm sure by the end of the day the story of falling off his sled will have taken on heroic proportions.

4 days til my birthday, if anyone's counting. I know, when you're a grownup you're not supposed to make a big deal out of your birthday, but after Christmas, what else do I have to look forward to until spring? Now that I have a steady love interest, though, I've found that the bday and Vday tend to get mushed together into one dinner out and combined presents, which kind of sucks.

I nearly went to sleep during physical therapy this morning; after she rotated my head and neck all around and I did some harder-than-they-should-have-been excercises, the heat pack nearly sent me off to dreamland. Ahhh.

Back to work.

10:32 a.m. - February 04, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: