caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

stupid hormones

So I drag myself out of bed this morning in order to make it to the rheumatologist's on time. I had thought my appointment was in January, but my mom had my appointment card, for some reason � I was with her the last time I went � and reminded me. So I go. And guess what? My appointment's not until January! And they didn't offer to work me in. I didn't have the card with me to prove the mistake was their fault and the should have worked me in, so when I got to work I called mom to see if she still had it. She does, and it does indeed say 12/5, so as soon as I collect it I'm going to send it along to the office manager there with a Very Pointed Letter. I'm not terribly impressed with that office, anyway; this is the doctor that keeps telling me that I'll feel better if I exercise and get more sleep, both of which have been rather difficult the last couple of months. I'm not sure if I'll keep my January appointment or not � depends on how apologetic they are, if at all, about today's screw-up, and if there's another decent rheumatologist in the area.

It's not been a terribly auspicious week, so I suppose I shouldn't have been surprised by this morning. I got up late yesterday and got ready for work, intending to make it in by 10; I started crying for no good reason just as I was ready to walk out the door and worked myself up so much I started throwing up. (TMI? Sorry). Stupid hormones, I guess; it's just about that time. By 11 I had to admit to myself that I just wasn't going to make it at all and went back to bed instead. This is one of those weeks I intended to get a lot down, and I've accomplished very little, and have slept a lot. Too much, probably.

I have gotten some Christmas shopping done. Blue is just about finished, and I just need to pick up a couple more things for YMB. I order nearly everything, which was a huge relief; my one trip to Kmart this week nearly sent me into a screaming frenzy. 5:30 pm on a Monday and they had, I kid you not, ONE LANE OPEN. When I complained at the service desk, the girl sighed pathetically and said, "oh, I know. But I'm not the person who does the scheduling." I would have left, except for two things I had gone there for specifically � I don't normally shop at Kmart, but something was advertised that I had not found elsewhere, and it was in stock � so I stood in line for half an hour because the other lane they eventually opened up was a 10-items-or-less self-service lane. Bleah. I hate shopping. Did quite well with Amazon's free shipping and a 20% off coupon at Eddie Bauer, however. Found THE cutest hockey print boxers for Blue � goofy underwear has become somewhat of a Christmas tradition for us. Last year it was a M&Ms design with "Eye Candy" printed across the butt. I think he'll appreciate these a little more.

We aren't charging ANYTHING this Christmas and it is such a relief. Both of the above sprees were completely financed via auction payments from Ebay, so the money never even rolled over into our bank account. Whew. When I stop to think about it, I am really so very impressed with us, that we haven�t charged a damn thing in like two months, except for one emergency grocery run and a couple tanks of gas. We're poor as hell, but I feel like we actually are finally, finally making some progress towards climbing out of that hole. And thinking positively, last week when we did our benefits paperwork for next year I allocated a good chunk of pre-tax salary into the health care flexible spending about, which we intend to put towards IVF treatments sometime toward the end of next year. After Blue graduates in August and gets a well-paying job that allows me to go to part-time and be not nearly as stressed. Knock on wood. Or wood-look laminate, which is what is available here.

Snow here. Got the first real stick-to-the-ground snow of the year on Monday, and it's snowed intermittently since then. So thrilled that my first time driving in seven weeks, aside from the early trip in little traffic to the airport on Sunday, was in a major snowstorm. Because, you know, everyone gets amnesia over the summer and forgets that IT DOES THIS EVERY YEAR IN MICHIGAN. So there was major traffic tie-up, cars sliding into ditches, people driving either inappropriately fast or way too slow, and general annoyance. I did a doughnut turning out of the Kmart parking lot and was just glad no one was coming; I can never remember if you're supposed to steer into or out of a spin, and if you're supposed to pump the brakes or just hit them. Grr. Hate driving in the snow.

But when I got home Monday night Blue was out shoveling and YMB was out playing with the neighbor kids, creating some kind of snow fort/sledding hill in our front yard. They all looked like the little kid in "A Christmas Story" in their snowpants and hats and gloves, pelting each other with snowballs and needing help to get up. Fun to watch, but I had no desire to get involved as Blue did, not with this still not-quite-steady ankle.

So things have just been really up-and-down this week, I guess. Roller-coaster hormones, no doubt, have just enhanced the fun. I'm fine and then suddenly I'm not. Poor Blue, I know he hates it when I'm like this and there's nothing he can do to help. He tries � he made me tomato soup last night, the sweetheart, and let me watch Blackadder's Christmas Carol on BBC America. Which cheered me up for a little while, until my big waste of time this morning.

Why are so many people googling on my journal for @ndrew D@n Jumbo, the carpenter guy from Wh!le You Were Out? And what kind of last name is Jumbo? That's really sad. Also, I don't know when a new Buffy is going to be on UPN 50. Here�s a thought � check the Buffy website, and not some random journaler. And, to the person who found me by combining chihuahua, crochet, and sweater, please, please don't. Do you really want to cause your dog that much embarrassment? Because that's just mean.

12:33 p.m. - December 05, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: