caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

insomnia

Updating in the middle of the night because I have been plagued with insomnia lately. I think the cast may have something to do with it, given as how it is incredibly uncomfortable and my foot is still hurting way more than I think it should. My toes and the bit of my foot I can see are more of a medium blue now than purple, so perhaps that is a good sign.

YMB got home tonight (well, yesterday, now), from his Florida trip, looking extremely tan and somehow older even though it�s only been a week and a half since we�ve seen him. Again when he got here, I realized how much I�d missed him and even his endless chatter. This week ended up being so busy, what with returning to work, breaking the foot, endless doctor�s visits and so on, that I hadn�t though about it as much as I thought I would, but it hit me again when I got home.

YMB thought my decorated cast was cool, although he was disappointed I didn�t go with the neon green, and the flower stickers are a bit "girly." I reminded him once again that I AM a girl, and he said "no you�re not, you�re a lady" which cracked me up. Then he offered me some of his Star Wars stickers, but I told him the Storm Troopers would really just blend in on a white cast.

YMB is also thrilled with Lucie. Given Daisy is a crabby old lady who ignores him and Charlotte still hates him for his tormenting of her when she was a kitten (he WAS only 6), a cat who would let him pet her and pick her up is novel for him. Plus she looks a little like our old cat Indy, who was technically his cat. I just peeked in on him and Lucie is curled up in a little ball next to his head, so she must have taken to him too. Awww.

Before the cast I�d succeeded in losing several pounds, and was pretty good about keeping to the Slimfast shakes and Luna bars instead of snacking all morning. But I�ve definitely gone off track since the broken foot; I was out shopping with my mom on Saturday (at Target, where they have those really cool carts you can whiz around in) and made her buy me some Doritos. She�s no help, as she just says that sometimes we really need junk food. And I had garlic bread for dinner tonight (last night?)

Ah well. With heading back to work (again) tomorrow, I suspect I won�t have as hard a time avoiding junk food. I won�t bring any, and the snack machine is a LOOOONG walk away on crutches.

Back to whizzing around at Target, I felt kind of bad taking one of the carts when I�d see some old person hobbling around. But I figure the carts are there, it was their choice, right? And we had to get my prescriptions filled, and I needed to look for some long elastic-waist skirts that will be easy to wear with my cast. I was mildly successful; I found two, both fit when I got home and tried them on, and I also scored a long sleeveless nightgown thingy that is sundressy enough that I can hang out in it all day (which is pretty much what I did today). And those carts are FUN, damnit; they make a cool beeping noise when you back up, and Target has seen fit to insert random poles in the middle of aisles so that you have to back up the entire aisle, and the controls are kind of like a go cart, except no brake pedal, you just turn the handles the other way to stop. Takes a minute to get used to, during which you can scare many Target shoppers. There�s a convenient basket to stick stuff in, and damnit, people get out of your way. I want one of those carts.

I�m getting so many Google hits for "sex pictures" that I decided to go see how far one has to scroll to get to me on that search. I�m #32, in an entry where the quoted material contains the phrase "There are no English lesbian sex pictures here." You�d think that would discourage people from clicking through, but apparently hope springs eternal.

Well, kiddies, it�s back to bed for me. I actually have to get up and go to work in the morning, deciding somewhere in there if it�s worth the pain and effort of washing my hair (much harder in a cast, you know). Sigh.

Note: stupid server kicked me off and won�t let me back on. I�ll post this in the morning, if the �puter decides to let me. Can�t wait for the new computer to arrive � dudes, we�re getting a Dell!

7:49 a.m. - May 07, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: