caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

just another number

Not surprising:

Enneagram

And there are lots of pop-ups, but still, I like this one:

I know I should be telling you that I'm
A rubai - but perhaps some other time.
It sounds like work, and anyway, it's late -
Unless I sleep, I'll be too tired to rhyme.

Besides, there's plates to clear and cups to clink,
And when that's done I have to sit and think,
Since then it won't be long before I need
To sleep again and eat again and drink.
What Poetry Form Are You?


Thanks SOOOO MUCH, Swwoop, for announcing my impending birthday. And age. I was trying to just kind of ignore it.

The birthday really isn't bothering me. Not the number 30, I mean. I don't think being in my thirties will make me a different person, or signal impending doom and the onset of wrinkles, grey hair, and cellulite. I'm thinking my thirties will probably be better, at least emotionally, than my twenties. My health will just continue to get worse, because that's what degenerative diseases do, but I've already been dealing with that for a couple of years. I guess what is bothering me is just the sense of time passing, and not having a whole lot to show for it. And it's kind of a weird feeling to know that in my grade-school memories, my mom is the age I am now. I don't feel like that much of an adult, really.

Lunchtime. It's my birthday � close enough � and I'm treating myself to fast food today. You know, before my metabolism realizes it's 30 and shuts down.

11:55 a.m. - February 07, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: