caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

has everyone lost their minds?

Not going to talk politics and war. Not not not. Nothing I say here is going to change anyone's mind, and mine's made up, so I'm not touching it right now. Except for saying that I watched the speech last night, and the commentary, and I'm frightened. And I wish that I could slap that sneer off Dubya's smarmy face. He's talking about people dying, and he still can't get rid of the smirk. Gah.


So, other things. Yesterday was gorgeous. It hit 71 degrees. And there was sun. It was so beautiful. I wasn't up for much of a walk, but when I got home from work I sat out on the porch with Sophie for an hour or so, just soaking up sunlight. Of course today is supposed to be rainy and in the 40s, as is the rest of the week. Sigh. I need spring. And green things.


So I've loved the Dixie Chicks for a while, and loved Natalie Maines even more when she told a concert audience in Britain last week that she was ashamed Bush is from Texas. And now she takes it back. I'm disappointed, although I'm guessing the publicity manager or record company or whoever is more responsible for the apology than Maines is. It's pathetic that she can't express her anti-war sentiments without having to qualify it "as a mother" and "a proud American." Watch out, here come the thought police!

Yeah, her remark was disrespectful. If I was from Texas I'd feel the same way. One of the things about being an American is that we get to express our opinions whether they are respectful or not. Sigh. I'm annoyed enough that I can barely listen to the radio anymore because the country music station I usually listen to is flooded with patriotic messages and "proud to be an American" PSA's at every commercial break, never mind that obnoxious pro-war song that they play like every third song (if you want to Google for the lyrics, it's called "Have You Forgotten" � I'm not linking it. It's beyond stupid, and rhetorically unsound to boot). The station here is, at least, refusing to boycott the Dixie Chicks even though they are apparently being flooded with calls asking them too � which is pathetic. And I was slightly amused today to hear the DJ refer to the Chicks' "Travelin' Soldier" as a patriotic song. It's really not.


So I saw the rheumatologist again today. She's still not convinced of a diagnosis for me, but basically thinks it's either sarcoidosis or lupus. Both of which have similar symptoms and can be difficult to diagnoses with standard tests. However my blood counts are looking better, and she's pulling me back for now to a drug with fewer side effects, which is a good thing. I'll be on this for two months, and off the steroids completely, and we'll see how I do. I've been feeling decent, if really tired, lately, so maybe things are looking up a little bit. If nothing else, better weather helps; everything hurts when it's so fricking cold and wet out.


2:04 p.m. - March 18, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: