caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh so soft and cuddly...

My good deed for the day, she is done. YMB and I found a lost dog and tracked the owners down. Yay us!

Actually the dog (unfortunately named ChiChi, I later discovered) found us; Mme Sophie was barking her head off, and YMB opened the door to let her out. And there sitting on our doorstep was this fuzzy brownish-orange thing. My first thought was "how did Charlotte get outside?" since it was approximately the same size and shape. Then I realized it was a dog, a little Pomerian-type with a curly tail and perky little ears. I opened the door to check for a collar and she waltzed right in. "Hi honey, I'm home!"

Sophie sniffed around and then dismissed her. The cats took off. The little Pom let me pick her up and started licking my hand. She was shivering, but not dirty and scraggly-looking, and she had a collar with a Humane Society tag but no name or phone number. So I call HS and they give me the phone number registered to that tag number. I call that number, and the guy who answers the phone tells me they don't have a dog, but they just got that number and maybe it was the people who had the number before. So I call HS back and the woman gives me the address -- which she's probably not supposed to do, I'm guessing -- and the name. The address is a side street close to the Ford plant where my dad works, so I call him to see if he could go by at lunch time; it's not the safest neighborhood and Blue was at class and is going straight to work from there, as usual, so I didn't particularly want to drag me and YMB and a dinky little puppy out there at night.

Anyway, he goes by, and there was no one home, but he left a note in the door with his work number, and the guy called back like an hour later. Apparently they were visiting his in-laws, who live just a couple of doors down from us, and they had ChiChi with them and she took off. So Dad gave him my number and he called and verified that yeah, it was his dog. He was really surprised we'd been able to catch her, he said. I told him there wasn't really any catching involved, she made herself at home. He was a little weird-sounding on the phone, and I was a bit nervous about this person just coming to the house, but I had his dog, what was I gonna do? And I figured Sophie could be vicious if need be. He wasn't freaky-weird, exactly, just ... odd. Like, he didn't seem to know the dog was missing, at first, so I don't know if just his wife was at the in-laws with the dog, or what. And I offered to just take the dog to his in-laws, but he seemed really confused about where we lived and also said that they were old and probably in bed already. And then he said he lost another dog, like 6 months ago, and he was hoping that was the dog we found. Which made more sense after I figured out he didn't realize that ChiChi was gone, but at first I'm thinking, huh? Were you trying to get rid of this one? It was just weird. But he came by with his wife and they seemed nice and thrilled to have the dog, although I still don't understand how she got away and why she's so for them hard to catch, unless she is trying to get away from them -- but she looked happy and well-fed and brushed and all that, so I suppose she'll be fine.

They also were very grateful and said thank you about a million times. They seemed really surprise that we kept the dog in the house and made an effort to track them down. And yeah, I suppose some people wouldn't have bothered with the effort we did, but I'm glad I'm not one of them; it's fricking cold out there, for one thing, and the poor puppy would have been frozen. YMB was a little disappointed, I think, but if we hadn't turned anyone up ChiChi would have been going to the Humane Society tomorrow; I could not deal with another dog right now. Even as cute as that one. And when I was tucking him in we talked about how happy ChiChi probably is now that she's home, no matter how nice we were to her.

So that was the bright spot of my day. Nice to be able to actually do something for someone. It was kind of a bummy day -- I didn't sleep well last night, and the baby thing was on my mind today for some reason. Blue thinks it's because I'm turning 30 next week. I don't know; the age thing doesn't really bother me, but more the fact that my health seems to be getting worse and not better. I'm already at the point where any pregnancy I have will by definition be high-risk; when you have an auto-immune disorder, the risk of miscarriage goes up exponentially. And with all this stuff going on at work, and being so uncertain as to the future, well ... the odds of us doing IVF this year just aren't all that great, despite what I'd like to believe. It seems like it's always something that has us saying maybe next month, maybe in the fall, maybe next year. Right now, it's pretty much the lack of $9000 to pay for the procedure, and the possibility that I won't be able to work throughout a pregnancy. So if anyone has any ideas for acquiring thousands of dollars quickly, short of robbing a bank, let me know.

Most of the time I don�t let it doesn't bother me. I'm able to push it down, way back far in the corner, and I don't take it out to look at it, or I�d be falling apart all the time. But sometimes it jumps out and bites me in the ass, and for some reason it did this morning. And when that happens I feel like I'm being punished for wanting something that most people already have, and it's just an overwhelmingly dreary feeling. Makes for a nasty day.

But we saved a puppy! So yay. And I'm just pushing everything else back into the corner for a while longer.

She did sort of look like a Monchichi, come to think of it. Monchichi, monchichi, oh-so soft and cuddly ..." Except without the scary-ass plastic face.

11:00 p.m. - January 30, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: