caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy freaking new year

My cousins did lose the other twin as well. After the first one died they were hoping that they could keep her from delivering, I guess, and so keep the other one alive, but she got a raging infection and so they had to deliver the first baby, and when they did that the other one died as well. There's really nothing else I can say about it.

It's been a sucky week all around that I will be very happy to see end. First we have to do another command performance at my parents' tonight, when Kitty and family arrive for their "Christmas" visit, so honestly the end of this week can't come soon enough.

The Kid got home Tuesday afternoon, and promptly came down with a killer death flu. He's been lolling around eating popsicles, watch the Lord of the Rings and Pirates of the Carribbean DVDs incessently, and whining. I totally understand the whining -- I know he feels awful. But I want someone to whine to, too. He seemed perkier this morning before I left for work, so I hope he'll be well enough tonight that certain people won't be upset at us for exposing Squirt to his germs. YMB hasn't had his Christmas with my parents yet and I'm not cheating him out of going over there and opening presents with the rest of the family because he has a cold and certain people will think and perhaps say that we should have kept him home. It's not like I'm going to tell him to go breathe on the baby.

For New Year's Eve, my parents came over and we all watched Pirates of the Carribbean. Exciting stuff. Actually, Mom, the Kid and I watched; Dad puttered around and wouldn't sit down and talked over most of the dialogue in the movie, and then came in in the last third and wanted to know everything that was going on. They left before midnight. Sometime after 11 one of Blue's friends from work and his roommate came over to hang out, and after we finally got Kristian to bed (he was sleeping on the couch because he wanted us to wake him up at midnight) we watched South Park on the comedy channel until 3 in the morning. Blue's friend had worked a turnaround shift at the hotel -- 11 to 8 am, and then 3-11 -- and feel asleep on the floor several times. So it wasn't exactly a Rockin' New Year's Eve, but that was fine. I didn't feel like doing anything anyway; it's just kind of depressing to realize how much you don't feel like doing anything. Makes me feel old.

Blue's parents came over yesterday for the Rose Bowl (the outcome of which we will not discuss) and stuff, and brought presents with them. YMB was happy since he got Simpsons' Hit and Run for XBox, although I'm not terribly sure about the wisdom of letting him play a game that basically involves crashing into things and running people over. Blue got clothes -- whee -- and I got pajamas (too small) and a couple of pretty beaded bracelets. One of which is exactly the same as one Blue got me. Luckily it's all from Target so I can exchange everything easily. Every year I end up exchanging whatever my MIL gets me. She always buys clothes-type things too small, which I guess is flattering, and really doesn't understand my taste or the fact that I'm just not all that big on jewelry and makeup and girly stuff. Oh well. She is very good about providing gift receipts.

Blue's dad feels awful, as well; they haven't started any treatments for the cancer yet, and so the tumor is still pressing on his kidney, so he's still all swollen and uncomfortable from water weight. His feet look like balloons. I don't understand why they can't do something in the meantime to make him more comfortable.

As for our year in review -- there's not much to review, actually. Blue finished school, but hasn't definitely found a job in his field yet. I accomplished precisely nothing, although I didn't break any bones, so I guess that's good. YMB -- well, he's ten. He doesn't have to accomplish anything. I don't know. I'm just fairly depressed about everything right now, and while I hope 2004 will be better, I've gotten so tired of saying "next year will be better" that it's really hard to hold out much hope.

10:51 a.m. - January 02, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: