caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

weekend in November

Fairly mundane weekend, but good all the same. Saturday was Quilt Guild, with an absolutely awesome and entertaining speaker, Ricky Tims. Male quilters are generally entertaining anyway, at least the ones I've met, as they tend to have a certain wryness and self-deprecation I find appealing. And an open, non-traditional approach to the art. He made me want to go home and start about seven new projects, although of course I can't since the cast is still on and the sewing room is still a mess. He brought this amazing quilt, along with several others, and talked about how his quilts sort of organically grow as he designs and makes them. Wish I had that sort of ability. Also ran into Karen and her friend Brook, who Mom and I met there last meeting and who will be joining the guild next year as well. So nice to run into friendly faces there. Karen has done some really gorgeous quilts as well, and is disgustingly prolific about it. (Hi Karen! No, I'm not jealous or anything, really!)

So after that Mom and I made the inevitable trip to Target, where we found some of YMB's Christmas presents (it's going to be a Very Harry Christmas this year, methinks) and I lusted after Sims Unleashed and Zoo Tycoon Marine Mania. Sucks to be broke. Fortunately I'll be back at full time next week and we are very nearly caught up with all the things we had to put off while I was off work. Also have some things going on Ebay that look to bring in some Christmas money. Yay.

Which reminds me, does anyone else find the Harry Potter Dobby action figure disturbing? Not the appearance, so much, but the fact that it comes with iron and lamp and when you press a button on it's back, "Dobby punishes himself!" Quote from the back of the package, that was. Seems a little S&M for the under-12 crowd. I know, it's in the book and all, but aren't most kids abusive enough with their toys without being encouraged to beat them up?

Anyway, then we did lunch at Red Lobster � I think our waiter was about 12, and attention-deficit with it � and pretty much vegged out for the rest of the day. Yesterday YMB and I went to church with mom, and that was an interesting experience. More on that in a later entry, I think. Later in the afternoon I helped YMB with his Christmas list, which Amazon has made a lot easier, and trolled for stuff for my own wish list. I know this isn't going to be a prime year for gifts, and I really don't mind, but it's fun, at least to me, to add stuff to my wish list anyway. It just reminds me of the things I want to look for later on.

Which Sesame Street Muppet Are You?
Which Sesame Street Muppet Are You?

Lots of entertaining (along with lots of really stupid and illiterate) quizzes at Quizilla, great for non-inspiring work days. People have to stop sending me this stuff. I'm not getting any work done.

John%20Keats
Which Major Romantic Poet Would You Be (if You Were a Major Romantic Poet)?

brought to you by Quizilla

girl%20next%20door
You are the Girl Next Door. You're the sweet one. The quiet one. The one that he doesn't realize he's got until you're gone.
What Type Of Retro Gal Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

4:09 p.m. - November 25, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: