caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Random ramblings

Hate doctors. Really do. Have had to see two different doctors this week, plus an uninformed intern, and all were so unhelpful as to make me want to tear my hair out. As if that would help anything. It all boils down to: here, take this to help you sleep, go back on BCPs, and you'll feel much better.

Hi, trying to get pregnant here. Going back on the pill is the last thing I want to do, and taking a sleeping pill is all well and good if I have twelve hours to kill, but when do I have time for that? I can't go to bed at 9 pm, as appealing as that might sound some nights, and if I take it any later I certainly am not terribly functional at 7 am. Gah.

I'm at my wit's end, I really am. I don't know what to do any more. No wonder the anxiety attacks are getting more frequent again.

Weirdest dream last night: I was at the Olympic Opening Ceremonies, except that they were being held in some sort of banquet hall type place, and I was on the luge team. And there was some sort of conga line later on.

School conferences yesterday for YMB. Academically he is still improving; his reading skills have finally caught up to what the school considers third grade level, and if he does 40th percentile or above on the skill test they took this week, he won't have to do a summer reading makeup thing for the first time ever since he's started school, which would be a nice change for all of us. Ms. H hasn't had trouble with him with any more angry punching-the-paper-towel-dispenser outbursts, like the one we had earlier this year, but he's still having trouble determining when it's appropriate to be the class clown and when it's not. But frankly, after reading Swwoop's entry from Monday, I'm just happy he doesn't take his old holey socks for show-and-tell.

The only other problem Ms. H noted that she's concerned about his obsession with the boy-girl thing, which is apparently a phase most of his class is going through now. Everyone has boyfriends and girlfriends, and YMB seems to be averaging about one girl a week. Although he's been stuck on Jade since Valentine's Day, so maybe he's trying out monogamy for a while. Apparently one day after reading Oh The Places You'll Go they were discussing what kinds of things they were looking forward to about growing up, and YMB's comment was that he couldn't wait to go on a date. Sigh. I fear for our sanity when that child hits puberty. But I'm just not terribly concerned; I can see how it causes problems in class, but it sounds like it's a spring fever thing they're all going through, not just YMB. Although I can see that perhaps he is the most vocal about it.

So we sat down at dinner last night and talked about conferences and reminded him to cool off with the girlfriend thing, which was nothing he hadn't heard before, and got him to tell us some of the problems he's been having with impulse control (not his phrasing, obviously � his goes more along the lines of "I got out of line to go tease someone, and then Steven wouldn't let me back in line, so I pushed him, and then he pushed me, and then we got in trouble," to which we say "Should you have gotten out of line at all?"). But he is getting better; I've seen him stop and think about things before he does them, at least occasionally, and that's an improvement. Doesn't stop him from doing dumb things, but that of course is due to the fact that he's an eight-year-old boy.

Celebrity boxing. Surely this is a sign of impending apocalypse? Sherman is updating us all on the results from his cubicle. I'm not sure if he watched it or looked it up; either way it's a sad commentary.

God know I do plenty of personal stuff at work -- witness this entry, for example -- but I swear, if I have to overhear one more conversation about left-hand cubicle neighbor's son's bar mitzvah, I'm going to scream. Calls to the florist, the rental place, hubby, mom, etc. Already this morning there's been an argument over centerpieces and seating arrangements. I wasn't this bad when I was planning my wedding, for pity's sake.

Blue really likes his anniversary present; what I got him is a replica Roman short sword. He loves swords, axes, knives � bladed weapons are totally his thing. I don't really get it, but apparently I made a good choice. It wasn't a terribly expensive one, and the blade is purposefully dull � you'd have a hard time slicing bread with it, let alone flesh, which is probably a good thing in our house. But he's thrilled to finally have a start of a collection. And my present, which I got to pick out, was a digital camera � yay! Haven�t had much time to play with it yet, but when I do you'll know it. Yippee!

9:52 a.m. - March 14, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: