caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

kate and quilts

For some obscure reason, I'm in an insanely cheerful mood this morning. I don't know when the last time was that I woke up in a good mood, yet here I am, over an hour into my work day, and I'm still cheerful. Huh.

Part of it was listening to the "Kiss Me Kate" soundtrack on the way to work this morning. The new one, not the one from the weirdly bizarre old movie with Howard Keel. I love the way they've jazzed up those awesome Cole Porter songs in this revival. "Too Darn Hot" and "Brush Up Your Shakespeare" are such nifty songs. And "Tom, Dick, or Harry" cracks me up every time. I sing along quite loudly and pretend I'm Ann Miller.

I had an incredible weird dream last night, something to do with one of those contests where you run around a grocery store and shove as much stuff as you can into your cart. I was accompanied by my best friend from second grade. There was other stuff, but that's the only part that even makes sense in English.

Also no doubt contributing to my good mood is the knowledge that the Queen of Passive-Aggression (GB, as she was once known) is taking off for ALA Midwinter in N'awlins today, and won't be back until next Thursday. Not that I would mind going to New Orleans myself, but they don't send us peons to the big conferences, so we will just revel in the peace and quiet for a few days, and I will update here at will. Hah!

I have got to find a decent place to get my hair cut, somewhere that doesn't charge 60 bucks and they don't try to convince me to cut it short. So if you live in the Ann Arbor area and you know of this miracle place, let me know.

I started my new quilt project last night. I'm going to scan in the fabric this weekend because it is just the cutest stuff ever. And I'm quite happy, because my awesome local quilt store is having a big sale this weekend, and if I get there before 9 am everything is 40% off, which means I can binge. Hooray. Fabric sales, I will get up early for. I can get the rest of the stuff for this project, and some other fabric they have that I've been coveting. Then Mom and I will go to our quilt guild meeting, which we will be late for because of the quilt store stop, but that's okay because it just means we'll miss the boring business stuff but still be in time for Sue Nickel's presentation, which should be awesome. (Check out her Beatles quilt!) So it's shaping up to be a decent weekend, if I can make it that far.

Also this weekend, we'll find out if the IUI worked. Keep your fingers crossed for us. And that's all I'm going to say about that for now.

Time to stop rambling and do some work. Sigh.

10:10 a.m. - January 16, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: