caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

surreality tv

Well, I had a fairly sucky V-day and remained sick all weekend, which somehow didn�t get me out of having to go shopping both Saturday and Sunday. I only went to Target one of those days, however. I watched far too much tv and capped it off just now by watching the Joe Millionaire-oh-no-I�m not-oh-yes-I-am finale. I only watched to better appreciate the TWoP snark, honestly. It�s more fun that way, although that didn�t stop me from totally enjoying the recaps of the previous episodes that I didn�t lower myself to watch. And I guess that would be �thousandaire,� actually, as presumably they have to split the million dollars equally. I hope that chick wises up and realizes that he�s really not a huge prize. She seemed like an actual decent person, comparatively � at least she seems like someone who could use $500,000, but then so could I � although of course one must question why if she has all these morals they keep harping on why she went on the show. And why she let them exploit some old person by repeatedly showing her crossing the street with him. Really. She�s a good person. She helped some old guy across the street.

Sad when our definition of �relatively decent person� is reduced to �didn�t star in bondage flicks to pay off her student loans.�

Also exposed to the next surreality show coming up the pike, in which total strangers get married because the same people who apparently can�t manage to get the American Idol number right will call in to tell them they are right for each other. Sigh. Can someone just bomb us now? I really wouldn�t blame them. Because I�m sure we�ve offended someone�s god to the point that we deserve it.

Oh, blah, enough about me and my completely non-productive and mind-sucking weekend. I return to the rheumatologist tomorrow, so she can tell me again that there�s obviously something going on and it�s clearly some sort of auto-immune disorder but other than that she really can�t tell me anything because my test results are inconclusive. I�m projecting here, but if I play the odds�

If you haven�t yet, and you have access, read Swoop�s Ode to Vanilla. And give it some thought. Of course, I�m one of those odd birds who will take real vanilla ice cream over chocolate any day, so I thought it was brilliant. I�m really not all that big on chocolate. Once in a while, it�s a good thing. But a little goes a long way. And it�s best when tempered with something else, like creamy fruit fillings. But vanilla � mmm. Really, it�s an abused flavor.

12:12 a.m. - February 18, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: