caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the rest of the weekend

Best. Gum. Ever : Carefree Koolerz lemonade flavor. Despite their scary-ass commercials. That's my public service announcement for the day.


So there was actually a lot more to occupy me this weekend than an elementary school gymnastics meet. Let me try and remember it. Ah yes. Last Wednesday night, YMB informed us that spring pictures were the next day. I decreed that he needed his hair trimmed, in that case. He fetched me the clippers and I did the back of his neck and the front of his hair. I cut the back a little too close. So Blue decided to take over because he has more "experience." Now I must point out that what happened next wasn't really Blue's fault; YMB is a squirmy kid and has a hard time standing still. The upshot is that he emerged from the bathroom with the bottom half of his hair about a quarter-inch long, due to an ill-timed head bobble and resulting bald spot in the middle of his head. Blue did a decent job of blending it in so it kind of looked like a fade. The pictures will be interesting, but then everyone has to have at least one set of school pictures with a bad home haircut, right? Then Thursday night, I stupidly decided to try to even it up, because the sides were actually pretty obviously different lengths. So, poor kid ended up with a weird sort of mushroom head, where his hair was really long on top and shaved from the top of his ears down. He claimed to like it, actually, and protested when I announced I was taking him to MasterCuts to let the pros fix it.

We didn't have time for that until Saturday, and YMB reported on Friday that "everyone laughed" when he walked into his classroom. He didn't seem perturbed about it, however; maybe for a 4th grade male it's a point of pride when you can crack everyone up without even trying.

Saturday we took Blue to dinner for his birthday. Which was actually Thursday, but he had class. We checked out this nifty new gourmet pizza place at the mall, where I had really good pizza with garlic shrimp and mozzarella cheese and alfredo sauce. Blue's parents and my mom met us, and Blue's present from the 'rents is that he's going to a Wings game with his dad tonight. Which is awesome, great, blahbiddyblahblah, and Blue is seriously geeked. However, that's all they got him, and FIL got the tickets for free from someone at work. Which I heard him say but probably wasn't supposed to, and I don't think Blue heard at all. I'm not passing judgment, I'm just saying. I also had to sneak extra cash onto the table for the tip because FIL, while he did buy our dinner, left an $8 tip for a total bill of some 80-odd dollars. He's a notoriously cheap tipper and it's not the first time I've done that, but every time I do I'm afraid I'm going to get caught, like Ross on "Friends" that time. I hate that. Blue aided-and-abetted by distracting his parents, though, so it was all good.

So then Blue went home to catch up on some sleep and Mom and I took YMB shopping for his Easter outfit. Got him a really nice actual suit and dress shirt, and a "real tie" and he was just geeked about it. Weird kid. Then took him to get his hair fixed and endured some hairdresser "what did you do?" comments. Of course I blamed it all on his dad, since he wasn't there to defend himself. YMB ended up with basically a military-style crew cut, except with that trendy longer part in the front that he can gel up and look cool. It's not bad, except for being able to see his scalp, and the way it makes his ears look bigger than normal. And they already stick out a bit anyway. He likes it, though, and proclaimed it "tight," so all is well.


Sunday before the meet we went to church, and YMB invited The Girl Next Door to come with us. Or she invited herself. I don't know. The only thing I'm clear on is that they cleared it with her mom before they talked to me about it, so I didn't really have a chance to tell YMB that it wasn't the greatest day to be proselytizing, considering how busy we were going to be. Also, the last Sunday of the month they make the kids sit in the sanctuary and not in Sunday School, which is really boring, of course, for all the kids and results in much wiggling and whispering. Anyway, so tGND came to church with us, and she and YMB sat and played tic-tac-toe and hangman on the back of random receipts I dug out of my purse. Then we met Dad, Minnie and EB for lunch at Big Boy's in Belleville (fried clams! 'cause it's Lent! Yay!), as they were out looking at houses in the area. Minnie and EB were, I mean; Dad was on his way to work. Anyway, it was hilarious, because tGND got all chatty and then decided to order for both her and YMB, and all gravely pronounced that "we would both like the psaghetti. With sauce on the side. Thank you." We all cracked up, of course, and YMB went beet red and tried to crawl under the table, then decided he really needed to go to the bathroom. Damn bossy girlfriends. When he got back, tGND decided it would be a good time to announce that she had seen YMB's underwear that morning. Only because she was in his room while I was sorting laundry, but she left that part out, of course. I declared a moratorium on embarrassment at that point. Poor YMB. It was all fairly entertaining, however, and despite the fact that tGND speaks very loudly and is very very chatty, she's really a good kid, and, I think, I good friend for YMB. She's really protective of him, which of course is something quite funny that we have to try very hard not to make fun of.

So, home, to pick up Blue and drop of tGND, off to the meet, snack at Wendy's afterwards, and home again home again jiggety jig, to nap, futz with the computer, play Xbox, read to YMB, cross-stitch for about 20 minutes before my fingers gave out, and stay up far too late reading the Funniest. Recap. Ever. on TwoP (do I pimp that site too much? nope, didn't think so). Tired today, and needing a nap which I won't get because it's just me and YMB tonight, since Blue will be off at the hockey game. Ah well, at least I won't really have to make dinner. Kraft dinner, anyone?

3:08 p.m. - March 31, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: