caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hair

I am going in a couple of hours to get 5 or 6 inches chopped off my hair. I am inexplicably nervous about this.

I checked into donating it to Locks of Love but I've put color in it too recently. It would take forever for it to grow out enough and I can't put up with it that much longer. It's driving me nuts.

So we'll see. I've had it short before but not in years. I'm a little freaked out but I'm determined!

9:25 a.m. - July 12, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

stupid

Well, that's nice. Why do people bother to make comments like the one someone posted earlier for this entry? Now of course I'm wondering if it's someone I know, if it's someone the Dementors know who happened to find this (unlikely, but it could happen, I suppose). Blah. Stupid people. If you have a problem with something I write, tell me, and sign your damn post. I'm happy to discuss it in a mature fashion. If you don't actually care, why are you reading this at all?

4:50 p.m. - July 10, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

trash tv

So, I mentioned I've been hanging around TWoP, right? Yeah. I'm addicted. I read recaps for shows I don't even watch, like "The Real World," and laugh and laugh. I post my thoughts on commercials, for cripe's sake (who is cripe, exactly?). And I have a new tv obsession, "The Amazing Race," and it's almost totally the fault of TWoP (well, and Natalie). There was a time when I turned up my nose at reality tv. And then there's now. I watched "Big Brother" last night. Really. Tragic, I know. And yet somehow I don't care. I know my intellect level and I know crap tv isn't actually going to make me stupid. I have enough serious stuff to deal with, that I don't feel too bad anymore about my trash tv. I watch for entertainment value, but I don't care about these people as actual human beings, really. It's more like a scientific experiment. It's fascinating to me, what makes people go on tv and put themselves in these awful situations -- besides the money, of course -- and how they act when they get there. I'm not sure why I find it interesting, but I do. It drives Blue crazy, but I equate it with his sports obsessions. He yells at the athletes and cares who wins and loses and keeps me updated on their lives. How different is that from me rooting for the Clowns to win TAR? Hmmmm?

9:50 a.m. - July 10, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

told you I'd be back!

Ok. I think I'm back. I have some things to catch up on still, and I'm doing this as a weblog for now so that I don't feel the need to write a novel every time I update, but I'm here. Much love and gratitude to everyone who's sent me good thoughts, let me know I was missed, and respected my need for a break. I missed you guys too, and I'm working on catching up on y'alls' lives.

What have I been doing for the past 6 weeks or so?

    * Went back to work full time for good. Sigh.
    * Read and reviewed about 40 new SF/Fan books for RT. That's a lot of words.
    * Got addicted to The Amazing Race and posted way too much on TWoP (the only internet I regularly allowed myself).
    * Worked out at least twice a week -- go me! I have muscle definition!
    * Went out at midnight to purchase the new Harry Potter book and read it in 12 hours.
    * Had several much-needed heart-to-hearts.
    * Read a really good unpubbed novel (I'm working on the critique, I promise, HW).
    * Threw a big 10th birthday party for the kid (five 4th grade boys sleeping over -- oy.)
    * Waved goodbye to the kid, who is gone for three weeks; he gets back from the Dementors on the 20th of July.
    * Played Zoo Tycoon a lot.
    * Painted the guest/kid's bathroom.
    * Cleaned out closets.
    * Organized the sewing room and started a couple of new projects.
    * Slept.

I think that's about it. Later.

11:19 a.m. - July 07, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: