caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

really, this is just too much

Okay, God, if you're up there and you're listening, this is really just too much. Today on my way home from work I (wait for it) fell while getting the mail and broke my ankle.

Not a joke. I�m gonna be on crutches and in a cast for like six weeks. Ha ha, it is to laugh. No shit. The several people I have told this to have invariably responded "You�ve got to be kidding." Like I would make that up. Talking to Swwoop earlier, I heard Herself (young Swoop, if you�re not conversant with the Swoop family) saying "what�s so funny, Mom?" and Swwoop responding, "Caerula broke her foot." I can just imagine the poor kid � "Moooom, that�s not funny!" Except that according to Swwoop, her actual response was giggles and "that does sound like something that could only happen to Caerula."

Which of course it is. I�m finally starting to feel a little like my old self again, back to work for three (half, but still productive) days, and now this. I came home at noon, after a stop at the garden center (gorgeous fuschia hanging basket and a clematis which one can only hope will climb like it�s supposed to) with plans to work in the flower bed, then go in and work on organizing my sewing room and work on quilting my kitty-cat quilt for a bit, which has to be done by mid-May to qualify for the guild show. I stopped to get the mail � we have a centralized mail location, like some apartment buildings do � got the mail, stepped off the curb to get back into my car, and my ankle just wooshed from under me. I fell face first into the car, jamming me left knee on the concrete and landing hard on my right ankle which was completely twisted under me and the car. I sort of felt something in my foot give way.

Dragged myself into the car, proceeded home (driving awkwardly with my left foot, since I couldn�t feel the right, let along put any pressure on the gas pedal with it), somehow got out of the car, got my stuff out of the car, got the plants out, made it up the stairs, hobbled to the bedroom to let Sophie out of her crate, hobbled back to let her outside, waited while she did her business, and made it back to the couch � where I promptly collapsed and started sobbing. I think I�d been in shock, and when the pain hit, it hit HARD.

I waited a few minutes, to see if it would subside, and instead it got worse and I was treated to the lovely sight of my foot turning purple. Called Mom and said, "uh, mom, could you take me to the ER again? I think I broke my ankle." Called Blue, who was working days and who I KNEW couldn�t get off until three (it was a little after two at this point) and asked if he�d like to meet us at the ER.

So. Dad was leaving for work when I called Mom, and he stopped by to help get me situated while mom called Auntie, who works for the doctor I have decided to change my primary care to, to get a referral (hate hate hate HMOs). The pain was simply horrendous � and no, I know I have a very low threshold for pain, so don�t tell me I�m a wimp, I know I am � and of course, the thought of having to go to the ER again was sending me into panic mode. Dad got me a Xanax so I could face the hospital, ice and pillows, and got me out to the van when Mom got there.

Went through triage at the ER and fortunately they directed us to Urgent Care, which always seems a bit faster and more cheerful then the actual ER. Which is was � we were in and out, including x-rays, in under two hours. Cheerful nurse guy wheeled me back, joking about running me into walls � not funny at the time, as I�d had no painkillers yet. The doctor came in and tortured me (read, moved my foot and ankle around and poked it in various places). I couldn�t feel my toes or the sole of my foot at this point, which I KNEW was a bad sign. Wheeled me right into x-ray, where insanely cheerful radiologist tortured me some more, and they were back with my x-rays within 15 minutes, while I watched the guy the next bed over get stitches in his hand.

The x-rays showed this lovely sharp line down the side of my foot, tapering off at my ankle. So it�s technically, I guess, my *foot* that�s broken � the bone on the outside, that runs the length of your foot and connects to your ankle, has a nice crack running all the way up it. They gave me some lovely Vicodin, splinted it, and sent me home with instructions to call the ortho doctors in the morning, as it probably should be casted on Friday. They have to wait for the swelling to go down first, of course.

So, as always, it�s always something. I have to call the doctor, my boss, and HR first thing in the morning, as of course no weight on it AT ALL for two days means no worky for Caerula, who just today had Grandma Boss querying me about when I thought I might finish up my unit. Hah.

Good thing I stopped my the mall yesterday and got the long-awaited haircut � a little below my shoulders, with swishy side bits and itty bitty bangs � and got the cutest outfit to wear to a wedding shower on Saturday, which luckily I already have a ride to as it�s another of Blue�s endless line of female cousins, and I�m going w/ MIL and some other cousins. It�s an adorable orange top and plaid skirt. Wonder if they can color-coordinate my cast?

Really, you know how they say God doesn�t give you anything you can�t handle? He must have a LOT of faith in me. I wish he'd Stop It already.

11:46 p.m. - May 01, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: