caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

snotty cat

Got back late Sunday night to a sick Lucy-cat, sneezing and wheezing all over the place. Cat snot is gross. Couldn't get her to the vet until today, where I plunked down a hundred dollars to discover that she has a severe respiratory infection - so now we have to give her two pills a day and get covered in cat snot as a extra special bonus to the scratches and bites that go along with pilling a cat. Joy. Poor thing looks like she's starting to feel better, though, so that's something. She felt well enough to scream her head off at the vets when they gave her a shot, and yowl at us during the pill incident, so that's a good sign.

The kid and I had a pretty good time in TC with Kitty and Baby. A little bit of shopping - YMB spent his birthday money fairly reasonably - and we went to a paint your own pottery place. That was fun, although we ended up being there way longer than we intended to since I had to scrape off a bunch of my paint and start over. I'm nothing if not a perfectionist. The brother-in-law wasn't too annoying, although he's become even more of a paranoid control freak since Baby came, sadly, and was upset that Kitty was coming back with us even though he was leaving Saturday on a business trip. He's rather she sit in the house with the baby for five days than spend time with her family. Blah. And the normally 4.5 hour drive back took nearly six, what with stopping three times to feed a change the baby. I also had at least three hours of mother-in-law horror stories from Kitty, and while I totally sympathise and hate how her in-laws treat her, I got sooooo tired of hearing about it. Between her and Baby and the kid, I had not a moment of peace during the entire drive. With that and a crabby husband and a sick cat on return, I was happy to go back to work on Tuesday, which is definitely a rare thing.

10:39 p.m. - July 30, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

idols and bugs

Another long weekend. Went to the American Idol concert Sunday night (shut up) and it was pretty decent, although with enough cheese to raise my cholesterol several dozen points. Since I had to take a muscle relaxer when I got there I was far more mellow during performances by, say, Goat Girl and Kimberme than I might otherwise have been, and yes, I screamed long and loud for Clay. Boy's a huge star. Simon Cowell is an asshat. And yes, I called Swoop during "Invisible" and held the phone up so she could hear our Rock Star Boyfriend in all his Red Wing jersey-wearing glory.

Also Sunday YMB got home, for his big 12 days with us before he goes back to the dementors. I could not hug him hard enough. He's been pretty well behaved since he's been back, too, and informed me yesterday that it's because he's more "mature" now that he's ten. Heh. Then he went outside and tried to experiment on some bugs with a "formula" that I think consisted of water and mouthwash. Poor bugs. I think they pretty much just drowned. But at least they had fresh breath.

8:33 a.m. - July 23, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pixel challenge

I must say, I'm having a total mehee moment over this (the Marcia Brady one). I'm brilliant! If you've never seen the TWoP pixel challenge thread, you should check it out -- it's totally hilarious. What's that you say? I'm supposed to be working? Oh.

10:24 a.m. - July 17, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

queer eye

"Queer Eye for the Straight Guy." Incredibly entertaining. It�s being rerun every night this week on Bravo; well worth checking out. Kyan�s totally my favorite so far, but I love all of them. Me:"These guys are my new collective tv boyfriend." Blue: "Wouldn�t that be my tv boyfriend?"

It�s Ann Arbor Art Fair time again. Bunch of snooty Detroit suburbanites buying overpriced art and a zillion sidewalk sales. Don�t get me started. I don�t have the energy to deal with it; it�s bad enough it interferes with my commute and Blue�s work schedule. Ugh.

Yesterday took a slew of Ebay packages to the post office to mail off. The postal worker was incredibly entertained by the one being shipped off to Bumpass, VA. Hee. Bumpass.

3:12 p.m. - July 16, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

weekend wrap-up

The haircut has been pronounced a rousing success by all and sundry, and I�m rather pleased as well. My head feels about 12 pounds lighter, my hair is nice and swishy, and one of my sisters yesterday told me I looked like a chick in a shampoo commercial. What higher praise for hair is there?

But oy, what a non-relaxing weekend. Haircut and a bit of shopping, which resulted in a couple of clearanced t-shirts and a long skirt, then I intended to head home, crash for a couple of hours, and finish up my review column. But when I got home I had a message from Mom asking me to come help her finish cleaning up her house, to make room for Kitty, CF, and Ben, who were coming down to visit for a couple of days. So I went over and swept and vacuumed and tidied up, got home about 8, and Blue, who was off work this weekend because he had class, wanted to go out. Since we very rarely get to go out anymore I went along with this. I�ll just say that I concur with Geni�s opinion of A League of Extraordinary Gentleman. Even Blue, unfamiliar with most of the literary tropes being viciously murdered by the film, left shaking his head. As Geni mentioned, the dialogue sucked donkey balls � there were dramatic scenes that had the audience giggling, which is never a good sign. Interesting concept, terrible execution. Any movie that has Allan Quartermaine on the deck of the Nautilus, lecturing Tom Sawyer that Mina Harker is out of his (Tom�s) league, while they watch Mina summarily rebuff Dorian Gray � ai yi yi. Too many plot holes to count, and so much inanity. Blah. I had such high hopes. Sean Connery, WHAT were you thinking?

So it was late to bed Saturday night, and then Sunday got up for church. The entire family (minus Blue, taking his practical exam) came, since Kitty and CF were due to meet us there, and we ended up going out to dinner afterwards with an assortment of aunts and cousins who wanted to coo over the baby. Then back to my parents for desert, where cousins from the other side of the family came to worship at the altar of babyhood. Grandma and Auntie were supposed to come � Grandma hasn�t seen her newest great-grandchild yet � but Grandma is angry with my father for her usual complicated reasons and is pouting. So she took it out by refusing to come see the baby. Sigh.

Came home around 5, intending to work on the column, but fell asleep instead. Blue got home, we went back so he could see the baby (who is awfully cute, of course), got home again around 10. Blue went to work and I went to work on the column, which I finally finished up around 2.

Loooong weekend. And I haven�t even mentioned the kitten rescue yet.

9:34 a.m. - July 14, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: