caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How would Alexander Hamilton have handled this?

Like Swwoop, I entertained myself and the boys last night watching 1940s House on PBS. So much better than either 1900 House or Frontier House; the family embraced the situation and not only made the best of it, but went above and beyond. Sure, there was some whining; I'd whine, I'm sure, if faced with soap shavings, 5 inches of cold bath water, and no eggs or fruit or butter. But they were very good about it. And the clothes were great. Definitely would recommend checking it out, if it comes around again on PBS.

Did manage to vote on Tuesday, despite some initial confusion about where the polling place was � apparently they decided to move it at the last minute, and a bunch of people who were in line with us were really upset about it, although it was only moved around the corner, so it's not like anyone really had to go out of their way. So, Michigan has a woman governor for the first time ever, which I'm pretty happy about, even though I'm not entirely convinced as to Jennifer Granholm's suitability for the job. Better than Dick Posthumus, who, besides having a stupid name, is incredibly conservative and basically annoying.

In the spirit of which, this, which I stole from Natalieee, isn't terribly shocking:


Which Founding Father Are You?

Have I mentioned that I hate MetLife with the burning intensity of a thousand suns? This is the insurance company that covers our disability at work. They have so screwed up my disability claim that I have not received a check yet, despite the fact that I've been off work for nearly six weeks and the very last bit of paperwork was sent to them three weeks ago. I won't bore you with the details, as it is so stupid and complicated that it would take ages to try and explain in writing and would just get me angry all over again. Basically, they had this claim confused with my previous one, and half the paperwork was in one place and half in another, not to mention which they had my return to work date from last time, July 9, as the date I went off work this time. Fucking idjits. Meanwhile, Blue's paychecks have covered groceries and the most essential bills, but nothing more; everything is late, we are getting threatening phone calls from my student loan people and shutoff notices from the electric and phone companies. So, anyway, finally they had everything cleared up and approved on Tuesday. They cut me a check on Wednesday and overnighted it. FedEx came to deliver it this morning, of course, while Blue was bringing me to work. So Blue just calls me to tell me that he has the notice from them that we can pick up the check after 5 pm today; considering that our mortgage payment went through yesterday and left us $100 overdrawn, we really need to get the damn thing in today. So he calls FedEx to try and track it down, and the DAMN TRACKING NUMBER is wrong. So now I'm playing phone tag with MetLife once again trying to get the right stupid tracking number. Can NOTHING go right in this? Christ.

Um. I guess that's really all for now, because now I'm all irritated again and anything else I write will just be more bitching and moaning. Let's hope things look more cheerful in the morning.

1:32 p.m. - November 07, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: