caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

not much here

I really don't feel like working today. Since I am at work, and since we have this huge project to finish, and since Boss is having hissy fits about it and lurking around our cubiclehood, this is a problem.

Yesterday in the mail I got a packet of forms to fill out for when I go see the rheumatologist, which isn't for another month and a half. There's a huge amount of medical history to fill out; it may take me that long to get through it all. I also got back the bloodwork my regular doctor did, which showed that I have an elevated SED rate. I was curious as to what this means, so of course I did a search on line. Apparently elevated SED rates are usually indicative of some type of inflammation. It doesn't say what type, but it's one of the things the use to look for fibromyalgia, rheumatoid arthritis, and other joint and bone diseases. From there I went on to a couple of fibromyalgia websites. The more I read about this disease, the more I'm convinced that the rheumatologist will confirm that this is what I have. I have most of the major indications -- trouble staying asleep, morning stiffness lasting over an hour, localized pain in various tender points, widespread pain and muscle soreness, and major fatigue. The problem is that there's no test that can see for sure this is what I have. FM is diagnosed generally by symptoms, and the symptoms above are also present in lots of other diseases. Then there are people who still don't believe fibromyalgia is a real thing, that it's just a bunch of tired yuppie women. Argh.

In other news, I really can't think of anything else to write about, and I should get back to work. I am hopeful that we'll get the phone jacks working and the computer at home set up this weekend, so that I can update more frequently.

9:08 a.m. - 2001-09-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: